Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

19 March 2016. Opening day


Bienvenue. Welcome. Bienvenida !

Yes, welcome to all of you who have come to celebrate with us the Opening of Marie Balavenne Year, on the occasion of the 350th anniversary of her birth. (lighting of “Marie Balavenne” banner) Thank you for being here this morning: You are most welcome all of you. Our special thanks to you, Mgr Moutel, for answering our invitation to preside over this celebration, accompanied by a few priests, friends of ours.

Who is this assembly composed of, this morning? First of all, the Daughters of the Holy Spirit who live in this house. A great number of them follow the celebration on TV, gathered in a hall or in their own rooms. There are also the DHS who have come from the countries in which we are present: FBH, EIW, the USA, Chile-Peru, Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, and Nigeria. You represent all the DHS who would have so much liked to be here, with us, today and with whom we are in great communion. Among them also, members of our Spiritual Family: consecrated lay women and Associates. Among us as well, lay people with whom we collaborate day by day, in our EHPAD, our medium-sized houses, in our Associations, at the Provincial House in Saint Brieuc or at the generalate in Rennes. Finally, friends of ours: religious women and men, lay persons.

We are here, all of us, to give thanks to God because of Marie Balavenne, because still today, her person, her life speaks to us and stimulates us: Marie Balavenne, a simple, humble, discreet woman who, with her companion Renée Burel, was attentive to the needs of the people around them. What did they do, both of them, except express themselves through "simple human gestures apparently without significance" (RL art 10): gathering children in their little house at Le Légué, next to Saint Brieuc, carry remedies and herbal teas to the sick, share the little they had with poorer than themselves. “They recognized in them the person of Jesus Christ and had a great respect for all” (RL art1). And the love, they were filled with, has stretched far beyond the frontiers of Brittany, which our today’s assembly bears witness to.

As we enter this celebration, how not evoke the memory of Sr Anne-Marie Couloigner, former superior general and in charge of this house, deceased last July? With other sisters and especially Sr Marie-Pierre Torlay, Anne-Marie has contributed to bringing forth the human and spiritual beautiful personality of Marie Balavenne. And how not associate with them, Sr Anne Boivineau who has given us this magnificent painting of Marie Balavenne? May this Eucharist be for all of us an occasion to show them our gratitude as well as to all the DHS, all the Consecrated lay women and the Associates who have preceded us.

United in this thanksgiving, let’s enter the celebration, and pray to the Holy Spirit! (Veni Creator)

Sister Anne-Marie Foucher, Superior general of the Congregation. 19 March 2016. Published on 24/03/2016     

 




Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

19 mars. Ouverture


Bienvenue. Welcome. Bienvenida !

Oui, bienvenue à vous toutes et tous ici présents, venus nous rejoindre pour célébrer l'Ouverture de l'Année Marie Balavenne, à l'occasion des 350 ans de sa naissance. (éclairage de la bannière "Marie Balavenne") Merci d'être là ce matin : vous êtes tous et toutes bienvenus. Un merci tout spécial à vous, Monseigneur Moutel, qui nous faites la joie de présider cette célébration, entouré de prêtres qui nous sont proches.

Qui compose notre assemblée ce matin ? D'abord les Filles du Saint-Esprit de cette maison. Un bon nombre d'entre elles suivent la célébration sur écran, rassemblées dans une salle, ou dans leur chambre. Il y a aussi des Filles du Saint-Esprit, venues des pays où nous sommes présentes : France-Belgique-Hollande, Angleterre-Irlande-Pays de Galles, Etats-Unis, Chili-Pérou, Burkina Faso, Cameroun et Nigeria : Vous représentez toutes les FSE qui aimeraient tellement être là, avec nous, aujourd'hui  et avec lesquelles nous sommes en grande communion. Parmi nous aussi, des membres de notre Famille spirituelle : Laïques consacrées et Associés. Parmi nous encore, des laïcs avec qui nous collaborons tous les jours, dans nos EHPAD, nos maisons moyennes, dans nos Associations, à la Maison Provinciale de St Brieuc ou au Généralat à Rennes. Parmi nous enfin, des amis : religieux, religieuses, laïcs.

Nous sommes là, toutes, tous,  pour rendre grâce à Dieu à cause de Marie Balavenne,  parce que, aujourd'hui encore, sa personne et sa vie nous parlent et nous stimulent : Marie Balavenne, femme simple, humble, discrète, attentive, avec sa compagne Renée Burel, aux besoins de ceux qui les entouraient. Qu'ont-elles fait toutes les deux, Marie et Renée, sinon poser " de simples gestes humains, apparemment sans importance " (RV art 10) ? : rassembler des enfants dans leur petite maison du Légué, là, tout près de St Brieuc, porter des remèdes et des tisanes aux malades, partager le peu qu'elles avaient avec plus pauvres qu'elles. "Elles reconnaissaient en eux la personne de Jésus Christ et avaient pour tous un grand respect" (RV art 1). Et l'Amour qui embrasait leur cœur s'est répandu bien au-delà des frontières de la Bretagne, comme en témoigne notre assemblée d'aujourd'hui.

Au moment d'entrer dans cette célébration, comment ne pas évoquer la mémoire de Sr  Anne-Marie Couloigner,  ancienne supérieure générale et responsable de cette maison, décédée en juillet dernier ? Avec d'autres sœurs, et en particulier Sœur Marie-Pierre Torlay, Anne-Marie a beaucoup contribué à faire sortir du silence, la belle personnalité humaine et spirituelle de Marie Balavenne. Et comment ne pas associer à Soeurs Anne-Marie et Marie-Pierre, Sœur Anne Boivineau qui nous a donné cette magnifique peinture de Marie Balavenne ? Que cette Eucharistie soit l'occasion pour nous de leur dire toute notre reconnaissance ainsi qu'à toutes les Filles du Saint-Esprit, toutes les Laïques consacrées et les Associés qui nous ont précédées.

Unis dans cette action de grâce, entrons dans la célébration en invoquant l'Esprit ! (Chant du Veni Creator)

Sœur Anne-Marie Foucher, Supérieures générale de la Congrégation. Le 19 mars 2016. Publié le 24/03/2016

                 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup