Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

Olney Celebrates


The opening of the Marie Balavenne year was a memorable and joyful occasion for the community.  It is a very special foundation of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit in the EIW Province, because it is the only Convent which was newly built for the Sisters. The Superior General at that time authorised the use of the patrimony of one of the Breton Sisters, who came to England in 1902, to build the Convent. The chief ministry of the Sisters in the 114 years of its existence was focused on education, evangelisation, and a love for the poor and underprivileged in the area. St Joseph’s Convent is now home to the DHS Sisters in retirement, for Sisters in need of nursing care, and the sisters and staff who care for them. We can truly consider it sacred ground, as so many committed and holy Sisters have passed through St Joseph’s Convent.

To mark the occasion of the Marie Balavenne year, the Sisters planted a Japanese weeping cherry tree in the grounds of the Convent. As it was a sunny day, most of the community members were present to watch Lisa, the community gardener, plant the tree in the garden adjoining the Convent.

The Sisters and some Associates then gathered in the solarium for the special tea prepared for the occasion, and prayed and thanked God for all the Sisters who had worked in St Joseph’s Convent over the years. One of the photographs shows the sisters at prayer in their beautiful oratory. This is one of the rooms in the Convent which is rarely empty as members of the community spend much time there in prayer and contemplation. The Province holds occasional meetings in Olney which enables other communities to keep in touch with the Olney Sisters.

Josephine Egan DHS, EIW Province. Publishad on 26/04/2016

         



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Olney célèbre


L’ouverture de l’année Marie Balavenne a été un évènement mémorable et de grande joie pour la communauté d’Olney. La maison d’Olney est une fondation très spéciale des FSE de la Province d’Angleterre, Irlande, Pays de Galles, car c’est l’unique propriété construite pour les sœurs. La supérieure générale de l’époque a autorisé l’usage du patrimoine d’une des sœurs de Bretagne -venue en Angleterre en 1902- pour cette construction. Durant ces 114 années d’existence, la mission première de la maison a été centrée sur l’éducation, l’évangélisation, l’amour des pauvres et des défavorisés de la région. La maison St Joseph est aujourd’hui maison d’accueil pour les FSE qui ont pris leur retraite, pour les sœurs qui ont besoin de soins médicaux ainsi que pour les sœurs et le personnel au service de la maison. Nous pouvons vraiment considérer cette propriété comme terre sacrée, étant donné le grand nombre de sœurs, vénérables et remarquables de dévouement,  qui y ont vécu.

Pour marquer l’évènement, les sœurs ont planté un cerisier pleureur du Japon sur le terrain. Comme il faisait très beau ce jour-là, la plupart des sœurs de la communauté ont pu voir Lisa, la femme qui entretient le jardin, y planter  cet arbre.

Les sœurs et quelques associés se sont réunis dans le solarium pour un buffet tout spécialement préparé pour l’occasion ; ils ont prié et remercié Dieu pour toutes les sœurs qui ont travaillé dans la maison St Joseph les années passées. Une des photos montre les sœurs en prière dans leur bel oratoire : c’est un des lieux qui soit rarement vide car les unes ou les autres y passent beaucoup de temps à prier et à méditer. Occasionnellement, la Province y organise des réunions, ce qui permet aux autres communautés de rester en contact avec les sœurs d’Olney.

Josephine Egan FSE, Province EIW – Publié le 26/04/2016

         



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup