Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

EIW Family Assembly


September 3rd 2016 - Birmingham. Nearly 70 Sister and associates gathered in the Redemptorist Abbey Hall in Erdington. This was our special Family Assembly to celebrate the year of Marie Balavenne. We travelled from Ireland, Wales all parts of England and even from France.

Our two Secular branch members were with us in spirit as they were in the USA at the International Assembly of the Secular Branch. They sent a card and message and a promise of prayers for this special day.

In her opening welcome Sister Regina spoke of this gathering as a key moment in the celebration of the year of Marie Balavenne. She stressed that this was an opportunity to spend time with each other and to share how we live our Charism in our daily lives. It was a time to strengthen the unity among us and allow ourselves, like Marie Balavenne and Renee Burel, to be filled with the daring that comes from the Spirit. In the words of Pope Francis:” let us work together, wherever we are, whatever we do to build a civilization of love, a culture of encounter.”

A warm welcome was extended to our three Associate candidates, Rosemary Wright from Aberystwyth, Rosemary Earle and Glenmore Bowen from the Northampton group who made their commitment as associates in the presence of the whole assembly. It was a moving, prayerful moment - afterwards Rosemary Wright  said, “I understand now how I am part of a large and loving family and shall always be grateful”

Sister Regina then welcomed and introduced Sister Yvette Le Grand who was our guest speaker for the day. Sister Yvette shared with us her insights into the life and personality of Marie Balavenne. “How could Marie Balavenne have imagined that, 350 years after her birth, we could be gathered here, as her Spiritual Family, all eager to grasp her message for our time?” Setting Marie Balavenne’s life in the social history of her day, Yvette brought to life the simplicity and poverty lived by a woman open to the Spirit. She showed how Marie, living in this poverty and experiencing in her life the loss of mother, child and husband, still answered the call to care for the sick, the poor and the children in her locality. Yvette spoke of the Spirit watching over Marie Balavenne’s journey and the presence of Don Jean Leuduger and Renee Burel who came into her life providing her with the spiritual guidance and fraternal help she needed to fulfil her mission. Yvette shared with us a brief history of the Congregation and quoted from the Rule of Taden underlining the words “they must be filled with love” She finished with these words: “We too have to be filled with love... when we are offered something of high value, isn’t it in receiving the gift wholeheartedly, joyously that we honour the giver?... Opening our hearts, our hands, our whole being, to receive with gratitude from the Source the pure gift of Love, so as to be made capable of loving? That is the path which Marie Balavenne has opened up to each one of us, to all of us together as her Spiritual Family. Let this year dedicated to her be the favourable time to savour afresh the taste of the Source and respond through concrete choices inspired by her life.”

We are deeply grateful to Yvette for sharing her insights and we were all profoundly touch by the depth and clarity of her talk clearly spoken from her heart. After a delicious lunch, during which we had the opportunity to admire a very special cake made for the occasion by an associate Madeleine Stocks from Aberystwyth, there was time for exchanges and renewal of friendships. During the afternoon we processed to the Abbey Jubilee Door of Mercy. Fr Gabriel Macguire gave us a most amusing and informative history of the beautiful and prayerful Church inherited by the Redemptorists from the Benedictines. As we prayed together it was a fitting end to a memorable day.

As one associate said,”We had a wonderful day and felt truly blessed. It was perfect to share with the Sisters and their grace filled the room.”

Ann Wright (associate) September 2016. Published on 13/09/2016




Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Assemblée Famille FSE - Province EIW


Le 3 septembre 2016, quelque 70 sœurs et associés s’étaient rassemblés dans le Hall de l’Abbaye des Rédemptoristes à Erdington, Birmingham. C’était une Assemblée de Famille FSE toute spéciale pour célébrer l’Année Marie Balavenne. Nous étions venus d’Irlande, du Pays de Galles, de différentes régions d’Angleterre  et même de France.

Nos deux Séculières Consacrées qui participaient à l’Assemblée Internationale de la Branche Séculière aux USA étaient de cœur avec nous. Elles nous ont envoyé une carte postale et un message avec promesse de prière à l’occasion de ce jour exceptionnel.

Dans son mot de bienvenue, Sœur Regina a présenté ce rassemblement comme un moment-clé de la célébration de l’Année Marie Balavenne, qui nous offrait, a-t-elle souligné, une occasion de passer du temps les uns avec les autres, de partager notre manière de vivre le Charisme dans notre quotidien. Temps donné pour renforcer l’unité entre nous, et avec Marie Balavenne et Renée Burel, nous laisser remplir de l’audace de l’Esprit. Selon les mots du Pape François, " Là où nous sommes et quoi que nous fassions, travaillons à bâtir une civilisation d’amour, une culture de la rencontre ".

Un accueil chaleureux a été fait à nos nouveaux Associés, Rosemary Wright d’Aberystwyth, Rosemary Earle et Glenmore Bowen du groupe de Northampton qui, tous les trois, ont fait leur engagement en présence de la grande Assemblée. Ce fut un moment émouvant et priant. Suite à quoi, Rosemary Wright de dire : " J’ai conscience d’appartenir à une grande famille où l’on s’aime et j’en serai à jamais reconnaissante ".

Sœur Regina a alors accueilli et présenté Sœur Yvette Le Grand, venue de France, notre conférencière pour la journée. Sœur Yvette a partagé avec nous ce qu’elle avait perçu de la vie et de la personnalité de Marie Balavenne. " Comment Marie Balavenne aurait-elle pu imaginer que, 350 ans après sa naissance, nous pourrions nous trouver rassemblés ici, comme sa Famille Spirituelle, tous et toutes avides de saisir son message pour notre temps ? " Situant la vie de Marie Balavenne dans le contexte social de son époque, Yvette a souligné la simplicité et la pauvreté vécue par une femme ouverte à l’Esprit. Elle a dit comment Marie avait vécu une telle pauvreté et comment après la perte de sa mère, de son enfant et de son mari, elle avait cependant répondu à l’appel qui lui était fait de prendre soin des malades, des pauvres et des enfants de sa localité. Yvette a parlé de l’Esprit qui a veillé au cheminement de Marie Balavenne, à la présence de Renée Burel et de Don Jean Leuduger qui, tous deux, lui ont apporté le soutien spirituel et fraternel dont elle avait besoin pour accomplir sa mission. Yvette a  donné un bref récit de l’histoire de la Congrégation et a relevé cette citation de la Règle de Taden : " Devant être remplies de charité… " Elle a terminé par ces mots : " Nous aussi, nous devons être remplis de charité… Lorsqu’on nous offre quelque chose de grand prix, n’est-ce pas en recevant ce don de tout cœur et avec joie que nous honorons le donneur ?… Ouvrons nos cœurs, nos mains, notre être tout entier pour recevoir avec gratitude de la Source-même le pur don de l’Amour, pour être capables d’aimer. C’est le chemin que Marie Balavenne a tracé pour chacun d’entre nous, et pour nous tous, sa Famille Spirituelle. Que cette année qui lui est dédiée, puisse être pour chacun le temps favorable pour savourer à nouveau le goût de la Source et répondre par des choix concrets inspirés par sa vie ".

Nous sommes infiniment reconnaissants à Yvette pour avoir partagé tout ceci avec nous et nous sommes profondément touchés par la profondeur et la clarté de ces paroles qui lui venaient du fond du cœur.

Après un délicieux repas et après avoir admiré un superbe gâteau fait pour l’occasion par Madeleine Stocks, Associée d’Aberystwyth, nous avons eu un temps d’échange entre nous, occasion de renouveler nos relations d’amitié. Dans l’après-midi, nous nous sommes dirigés en procession jusqu’à la Porte de la Miséricorde de l’Abbaye. Le Père Gabriel Macguire nous a raconté une anecdote très amusante de l’histoire de la belle Eglise que les Rédemptoristes ont hérité des Bénédictins. Nous avons prié ensemble : c’était la fin qui convenait à une journée mémorable.

Un Associé de dire : " Ce fut une journée magnifique et nous en sommes vraiment heureux ! Ce fut super de partager avec les Sœurs et la salle était remplie de leur bonheur ".

Ann Wright (Associée) septembre 2016. Publié le 13/09/2016



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup