Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

Marie Balavenne Day. Nigeria


The Exhibition Phase 1 day in honour of the celebration of the year of Marie Balavene was carried out on the 3rd of Septemeber 2016. The assembly declared open by the vice-provincial Sr. Monica Anyi. The activities of the day were facilitated by sr. Esther AMOWE, one of her councillors.

The morning mass was celebrated by Very Rev Fr Michael Okodua.  This was followed by  breakfast and the sisters all gathered in Renee Burel hall to begin the activities of the day. After the Morning Prayer, the first session began with the celebration of Marie Balavenne Day. Every sister was dressed in the vest (T-shirt) specially designed for the celebration. The organizing team gave the introduction with a short drama presentation on the life history of Marie Balavenne. This led gradually to a film show which all sat quietly to watch. The film titled “Humane” -de Yann Arthus-Bertrand-, came from the last council of congregation through the vice provincial superior to us. It was for us all to listen to the cry of the poor in our world today as Marie Balavenne and Renne Brel did in their time. We watched the film together, and reflected together o the poverty of our world, the suffering of the human race! The closing remarks were given by Sr. Hannah Okoliko followed by group photographs outside.

The second part of the celebration was the exhibition of items associated with our charism, spirituality, history and life generally as Daughters of the Holy Spirit. There was a display of Products, almost like artefacts from the archives of each community which reminded us of our humble beginnings in Nigeria. There were games on display for sisters to relax together in the spirit of Maria Balavenne our foundress. Writing and drawing materials were made available for writing of articles, photo galleries/archives on displays and a lot more. Various products form communities were displayed and all had fun. The writing materials made available enabled sisters to put down their thoughts and reflections on Marie Balavene, the woman of our time. The Holy Spirit surprised us as all these articles and drawings were put together to make a special edition of the magazine of the vice province of Nigeria -The Talking Drum- which had been out of circulation for some time!  We quickly prepared ourselves for Sunday mass which was said on Saturday evening because of the shortage of priests at the time.

The Eucharistic celebration for Sunday was officiated by Rev Fr Cyril Ogbonna. During the mass, every sister took part in the prayer of the faithful in a simple format. We all said a prayer together in honour of Marie Balavene for our world.

After the Mass, all processed out for the next part which commenced with the cutting of the birthday cake of Marie-Balavenne. Interestingly, Marie Balavenne visited us from heaven dressed in the white habit of the white sisters of Brittany and the Quaff. She was present to cut the cake of her 350th birthday! There was a great sound of joy and jubilation among the sisters, eating and drinking. Dancing! Dancing! Dancing!

During this weekend of exhibition phase 1 we received a special gift of prayer commpanion: Sisters were given another privilege to randomly pick a name of a sister each from the basket in which we have papers with all our names written on, we are to pray for the sister whose name we pick for the whole year.  

The meeting celebration came to an end by prayer led by Sr. Esther Amowe. Our vice provincial superior, sr. Monica Anyi thanked all for their participation and encouraged us all to keep living in the spirit of the celebration of our foundresses throughout the year.

Sr. Esther Amowe & Pattience Effiong. Published on 16/09/2016



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Journée Marie Balavenne. Nigéria


La journée en l’honneur de l’Année Marie Balavenne a été célébrée le 3 septembre 2016. La vice-provinciale, Monica Anyi a déclaré l’assemblée ouverte. Les activités de la journée ont été menées par Sr Esther Amowe, une de ses conseillères.

Le matin, la messe a été célébrée par le Révérend Père Michael Okodua, suivie du petit déjeuner. Puis les sœurs se sont rassemblées dans le hall Renée Burel pour se préparer aux activités du jour. Après la prière du matin, ouverture de la journée. Toutes les sœurs portaient le T-shirt conçu pour la circonstance. L’équipe de pilotage a ouvert la journée par une courte présentation de l’histoire de Marie Balavenne, suivie d’une vidéo que toutes, assises par terre, ont regardée dans le plus grand silence. Le film intitulé " Human " -de Yann Arthus-Bertrand, composé d'images aériennes inédites et de témoignages qui dressent un portrait de l'humanité d’aujourd’hui- avait été apporté par la Vice-Provinciale au retour du dernier conseil de congrégation. Il nous appelait toutes à écouter le cri des pauvres de notre monde d’aujourd’hui comme Marie Balavenne et Renée Burel l’avaient fait de leur temps. Nous avons regardé le film ensemble et pensé à la pauvreté de notre monde, les souffrances des hommes ! Sr Hannah Okolico a conclu cette première partie de la journée qui s’est terminée  par une prise de photos de nous toutes à l’extérieur.

La deuxième partie de la journée : exposition d’objets divers associés à notre charisme, notre spiritualité, notre histoire et la vie des Filles du Saint Esprit en général  -exposition d’œuvres d’Archives de chaque communauté qui nous rappelaient les humbles origines des FSE au Nigéria-. Il y avait des jeux pour la détente des sœurs dans l’esprit de Marie Balavenne. Il y avait de quoi écrire et dessiner, il y avait tout ce qu’il fallait pour écrire des articles, il y avait des photos, des archives et bien d’autres choses encore. Tous ces objets étaient exposés et nous ont bien amusées. Les sœurs avaient à leur disposition de quoi écrire leurs réactions, leurs réflexions au sujet de Marie Balavenne, femme de notre temps. Le Saint Esprit nous a surpris lorsque tous ces dessins et articles ont été rassemblés pour faire une édition spéciale du journal de la vice-province du Nigéria -The Talking Drum- qui avait cessé de paraître depuis un certain temps !

Nous nous sommes vite préparées pour la messe du samedi soir car nous manquons de prêtres actuellement. L’Eucharistie a été célébrée par le Révérend Père Cyril Ogbonna. Pendant la messe, toutes les sœurs ont participé à la prière des fidèles d’une manière toute simple. En l’honneur de Marie Balavenne, nous avons récité une prière ensemble pour notre monde.

Après la messe, nous sommes sorties pour l’étape suivante : le partage du gâteau-anniversaire en l’honneur de Marie Balavenne. Et surprise ! Marie Balavenne elle-même était là, descendue du ciel pour nous rendre visite, vêtue du costume blanc des Sœurs Blanches de Bretagne et de la coiffe. Elle était là pour couper le gâteau de son 350ème anniversaire. Grande joie, jubilation… et les sœurs ont mangé, bu et… elles ont dansé, dansé, dansé !

Au cours du weekend de la première partie de l’exposition, nous avons reçu en cadeau une 'Prière d’Accompagnement'. Puis les sœurs ont encore reçu un autre cadeau : celui de prendre le nom d’une sœur du panier dans lequel nous avions toutes déposé un billet portant notre nom… Nous devrons prier toute l’année pour la sœur dont le nom est écrit sur le billet que nous avons pris.

La journée s’est terminée par une prière menée par Sr Esther Amowe. Sr Monica Anyi, notre vice-provinciale a remercié tout le monde pour leur participation et nous a encouragées toutes à continuer à vivre toute l’année dans l’esprit de la fête célébrée en l’honneur de notre fondatrice.

Sr Esther Amowe et Pattience Effiong. Publié le 16/09/2016



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup