Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

EIW. A Mass of thanksgiving


On Saturday 19 March 2016 the Year of Marie Balavenne celebrating the 350th Anniversary of the birth of our foundress was launched for the whole Family of the DHS: Sisters, Associates and Secular Branch. Just over a year later, on Saturday 27 May 2017 on a beautiful sunny day, the EIW Province met in Olney where a Mass of thanksgiving was celebrated to mark the approaching end of this special Year, pending the final closure in France in August at the end of the Family Meeting in Ile Blanche.

Over 80 Sisters, Associates and Secular Branch members, friends and parishioners were present at the Mass which was celebrated in Our Lady Help of Christians and St Laurance Church, Olney. The Bishop of the Diocese of Northampton was the chief celebrant, and he was accompanied by a number of priests, known to or serving in parishes where the Sisters have convents.

Following the processional entry hymn, and words of welcome by the Provincial, members of the Marie Balavenne spiritual family presented symbols relating to the charism and mission over three centuries. A lighted candle and a bible were placed on a table in front of the altar. The Sisters presented the Rule of Life, the Associates their Book of Life, and the Secular Branch their Statutes. A large bouquet of flowers was finally placed in front of the altar to represent our harmony, diversity and the joy of the occasion.

The Bishop thanked the sisters for their ministry in the Diocese of Northampton and the other dioceses for more than a century. The theme of thanksgiving was prevalent throughout the Mass. The Sisters’ prayer was a prayer of thanks to God for all we have lived, and the hope to keep us faithful in the future to our charism especially in our openness to the poor and the marginalised. With the approach of Pentecost, we also prayed that the Holy Spirit would make us rich in love for God and for one another in our communities.

In the true tradition of the DHS hospitality in our Province, the Mass was followed by a celebratory meal held in the Olney parish centre, and this provided an occasion which we all so love, to enable us to meet old and new friends. For those who had travelled 150 miles to attend the Mass, it was soon time to begin the journey home, but everybody rejoiced in the social and spiritual experience of such a gathering. Deo gratias.

Josephine Egan DHS, EIW Province. Published on 7/07/2017

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

EIW. Messe d'action de grâce


Le samedi 19 mars 2016 était inaugurée pour toute la Famille FSE, l'Année Marie Balavenne, qui célébrait le 350ème anniversaire de la naissance de notre fondatrice. Le samedi 27 mai 2017, par une magnifique journée ensoleillée, la Province d'Angleterre-Irlande-Pays de Galles s'est retrouvée à Olney : une messe d'action de grâce y était célébrée pour marquer cette année spéciale dont la clôture officielle aura lieu à la fin de l'Assemblée de la Famille, le 15 août,  à l'Ile Blanche, France.

Plus de 80 personnes : Sœurs, Associés, membres de la Branche Séculière, amis et paroissiens étaient présents à cette messe, célébrée à l'église Notre Dame Secours des Chrétiens et Saint Laurent, Olney. L'évêque du diocèse de Northampton   présidait  la célébration. Il était accompagné de nombreux prêtres connus des sœurs ou servant dans les paroisses où les sœurs ont des communautés.

Après un chant d’entrée des plus solennels et le mot d'accueil de la Provinciale, des membres de la famille spirituelle de Marie Balavenne ont présenté des offrandes, symboles de notre charisme et de notre mission depuis plus de trois siècles. Un cierge allumé et une Bible furent placés sur une table devant l'autel. Les sœurs ont apporté leur Règle de Vie, les associés leur Livre de Vie et les membres de la Branche séculière leurs Statuts. Enfin un immense bouquet de fleurs a été déposé devant l'autel, traduisant à la fois l’harmonie et la diversité entre nous et aussi la joie d’un tel rassemblement.

L'évêque a remercié les sœurs pour leur service apostolique au niveau du diocèse de Northampton et des autres diocèses depuis plus d'un siècle. La prière des religieuses était une prière d’action de grâces pour tout ce que nous avons vécu et espérant demeurer fidèles à notre charisme, portant une attention spéciale aux pauvres et aux marginalisés. A l'approche de la Pentecôte, nous avons aussi demandé au Saint Esprit de nous remplir d'amour pour Dieu et d’amour les unes pour les autres dans nos communautés.

Dans la pure tradition de l'hospitalité des FSE dans notre province, la messe fut suivie d'un repas festif servi dans le Centre paroissial d'Olney. Cela nous a donné une occasion qui nous est chère, de rencontrer d'anciens amis et d’en saluer de nouveaux. Pour ceux qui avaient fait 150 miles pour participer à la messe, il était temps de reprendre le chemin du retour, tous  heureux d’avoir vécu une telle rencontre à la fois humaine et spirituelle. Deo gratias.

Joséphine Egan, FSE, Province Angleterre, Irlande, Pays de Galles. Publié le 7/06/2017

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup