Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

"Marie Balavenne" evening in Flers


Friday, June 2, 2017, at the invitation of Philippe Pottier, Priest of Flers -Normandie-, today Vicar General of the Orne Diocese, Sister Anne-Marie Foucher, Superior General of the Congregation of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit, came to present Mary Balavenne, founder of the Congregation.

Coming in friendship for the sisters of the communities of Briouze and Flers or to greet Sister Anne-Marie, a former student of the Notre Dame School, we had gathered in the chapel of the church of Saint Germain. Using a slideshow, Sister Anne-Marie gave a broad outline of the social, economic and religious context of the late 17th century when Marie Balavenne, Renée Burel and their companions began their small association.  Skipping over three and a half centuries of existence of the Congregation, she recalled the celebration of the merger of the sisters of Notre Dame de Briouze and then that of the Sisters Hospitalieres of Poligny: placing the "Daughters of the Holy Spirit" today in ten countries around the world.

During the discussions that followed, some members of three communities spoke: Paulette and Danielle, from the community of Flers, spoke of their presence in the working class neighborhood; Monique, for her help to our Sisters in EHPAD and to all residents of the Sainte Agnès community; Aline, the services that the Community of Joncherets give to the parish, and Therese, with enthusiasm, evoked the work she had accomplished with young women in Cameroon.

Sister Anne Marie, thinking of the Associates, then evoked the beautiful face of Annick Riblier, who died last year in Flers. Then she also spoke about the secular laity in the world today. Three different ways of placing us, all living from the same spirituality inherited from the experience of Marie Balavenne and her companions, all attentive to the life of people, especially the most challenged ... drawing love from Trinitarian source and entrusting us to Mary.

A time of prayer has brought us together. We sent a warm thank you to Anne Marie. And our meeting ended around the glass of friendship.

Reactions on the way back from Briouze

"If we had lived at that time, as we like our profession as nurses, we would probably have been religious." (Expression of three young professionals, A. H. and P., with a touch of humor)

"I really enjoyed hearing the story of a congregation with the unforeseen events of life and the dynamism deployed throughout the ages! It was very good." A.M

Sister Aline Caer

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Soirée " Marie Balavenne " à Flers. France


Vendredi 2 juin 2017, à l’invitation de Philippe Pottier, curé de Flers -Normandie-,   aujourd’hui Vicaire Général du Diocèse de l’Orne, sœur Anne-Marie Foucher, supérieure générale de la Congrégation des Filles du Saint-Esprit, est venue présenter Marie Balavenne, fondatrice de la Congrégation.

Venus par amitié pour les sœurs des communautés de Briouze et de Flers ou pour saluer Sœur Anne-Marie, ancienne élève de l’école Notre Dame, nous nous étions réunis dans la chapelle de l’église Saint Germain. A l’aide d’un diaporama, Sœur Anne-Marie a retracé à grands traits le contexte social, économique et religieux de la fin du 17ème siècle lorsqu’a débuté la petite Association Marie Balavenne, Renée  Burel et leurs compagnes. Survolant les trois siècles et demi d’existence de la Congrégation, elle a rappelé la célébration de la fusion des sœurs de Notre Dame de Briouze, puis celle des sœurs Hospitalières de Poligny : elle a situé ainsi  la "Famille Filles du Saint Esprit"  présente aujourd’hui dans dix pays à travers le monde.

Au cours des échanges qui ont suivi, quelques  membres de trois communautés se sont exprimées : Paulette et Danielle, de la communauté de Flers, ont parlé de leur présence en quartier populaire ; Monique, de l’attention qu’elle porte à nos sœurs en EHPAD et à tous les résidents de la communauté Ste Agnès ; Aline, des services que la Communauté des Joncherets donnent à la paroisse, et Thérèse, avec enthousiasme, a évoqué le travail qu’elle avait accompli auprès de jeunes femmes au Cameroun.

Sœur Anne Marie, en pensant aux Associés, a ensuite évoqué la belle figure d’Annick Riblier, décédée l’an dernier à Flers. Puis, elle a également parlé des laïques consacrées dans le monde d’aujourd’hui. Trois manières différentes de nous situer, tous vivant d’une même spiritualité héritée de l’expérience de Marie Balavenne et de ses compagnes, tous attentifs à ce qui touche à la vie des personnes, surtout des plus éprouvées… puisant l’amour à la source Trinitaire et en nous confiant à Marie.

S'en est suivi un temps de prière. Nous avons adressé un chaleureux merci à Anne-Marie. Et notre rencontre s’est terminée autour du verre de l’amitié.

Réactions au retour à Briouze

" Si nous avions vécu à cette époque, comme nous  aimons  notre métier d’infirmières et d’enseignantes, nous  aurions sans doute été religieuses. " (Expression de trois jeunes professionnelles, A. H. et P,  …  avec un brin d'humour)  

" J’ai vraiment aimé entendre l’histoire d’une congrégation avec les aléas de la vie et le dynamisme déployé à travers les âges ! C'était très bien." A. M.

Sœur Aline Caër

 


 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup