Homepage
ABOUT US Marie Balavenne Year March 2016 August 2017

Français | English | Español
Identification

Ile Blanche, 15 August 2017 - Marie Balavenne Year? Continuing…


One year? Yes and even longer as it was on the 19 March 2016 that the solemn opening of the Marie Balavenne Year took place. *

15 August! The day we had been expecting for such a long time, which we had prepared wherever we were! As of the daybreak, cars started to arrive all converging towards Ile Blanche- in Locquirec, Britanny- House of welcome, dear to the Congregation, a wonderful site which had been chosen for the gathering. On arriving, the travelers were welcomed by a joyous group of men and women waving scarves and displaying words of welcome.

A multi-colored day. In the meadow bordered with trees, a large platform had been set up for the celebration, on it the temporary altar draped in blue of the same fabric as the Nigerian sisters’ costumes. The green and the sea offering the fitting setting together with the river Douron -running along the property- which started to be filled with the rising tide, turning the meadow into a peninsula. The musicians were already comfortably settled, the animators getting more and more active. A big barnum might have sheltered both from the heat or from the rain but all of a sudden, the clouds gave way to the sun, most opportune for the meetings, exchanges, hugging and shouts of joy. The members of the “Family” who had come from Africa and Latin America added a new element through their colored costumes. A lot of chairs had been set out but many participants, as advised to do so, had brought their own stools thus adding a few more colored spots.

A day of joyous thanksgiving. Many priests and deacons had settled down. The Eucharist, simple and beautiful, was presided over by Mgr Dognin, Bishop of Quimper and Léon. Everybody appreciated his presence as being that of a shepherd, his fraternal interest having led him to remain among us the whole day. In his homily, he spoke of both the place of Mary whose feast-day the Church was celebrating and that of Marie Balavenne. For African men and women, there is no celebration without dancing and singing and everyone joyfully accompanied the rhymed processions with tambourines while singing Maria, Maria é é é… All faces radiated with the joy both of the encounter and of the happy memories of the year which had just gone by.

A day of international fraternity. This 15 August feast-day was followed up by an international Family meeting that brought together members of the Three Branches (Religious women, Consecrated Seculars, Associates) as delegates coming from all the countries in which we are. The picnic gave us the opportunity to cheerfully meet and exchange. At the beginning of the afternoon, time was given to either prolong the sharing or to disperse and discover Ile Blanche, admire the landscape, watch videos, sing and dance. The time as well to visit the “Marché solidaire” space, to admire and buy home-made objects, products coming from everywhere!

A time of relaxation could be enjoyed while watching the sketch showing Marie Balavenne, Renée Burel and other people of importance for us -Jean Leuduger, Gui de Montpellier, Charlotte Delaunay- often evoked in the Congregation, and who, on that very day,  had come down from heaven! Later on, everyone to applaud when seeing the huge birthday cake prepared by the cooks of Ile Blanche, quickly served by a host of voluntary helpers, together with a fizzy drink! A moment of intense elation!

A day for sending on mission. After a time of relaxation, a time for the sending on mission. At the backdrop:  white doves hanging from branches looked as if they were trying to fly away under the shrieks of seagulls intrigued, so it seemed, by the presence of these intruders.

As of our arrival, each of us had felt challenged by a large triangular panel, on the right side of the altar: “Led by the Spirit, witnessing together of the love which transforms the world”.  Sr Anne Marie Foucher, superior general, reminded us that this was not a conclusion. But in direct continuity with Marie Balavenne’s intuition, lay consecrated women and Associates still today felt called to be sent on mission.

This continuity could be strongly felt through the sending on mission of four sisters: a Cameroonion, a French woman, and a Burkinabe who, with a French Sister already living there, would constitute a community in Peru and a Nigerian sent to Ile Blanche. The dance of Kenia, a Chilian sister, welcoming in her vice-province an international community, spoke volumes: a strong living breath, a cry of hope in the day to day living. Like in Marie Balavenne’s days, the means are so few in the face of the calls. Is not the Spirit motion, breath, a wind which blows out into the open?

“The same Spirit who gathers us is also the One who sends us”, our Rule of life says. A symbol of it was given through the gift of a rose to those in charge of the seven Units of the Congregation, of the consecrated lay women and the Associates in all the countries where we are. A rose offered by its “editeur” to the DHS Family. A rose called Marie Balavenne! We could leave with a flower, a color, a scent…  to love and "all together to be witnesses of the love which transforms the world”.

Sr Marie France Cavaloc – Published on 19/08/2017

* Marie Balavenne, a humble woman of Le Légué- a harbor next to Saint Brieuc- was born in 1666. Her life was marked by many a trial, particularly the death of her husband, a widower whose children she took charge of and the loss of the infant baby born of their union. With the support of Jean Leuduger, a priest of the diocese engaged in the Breton Missions, she devoted herself with her companion Renée Burel, to respond to the distress and needs of the people around them: uneducated children, poor sick people, abandoned old people. They saw in them the person of Jesus Christ and found, in their call to the Spirit of Love, at the heart of the Trinity, the creativity they needed to serve the least of the least in all possible ways. By vows, they consecrated their lives to God on 8 December 1706… Unaware that more women would come and join them, they founded a Congregation!

In the twelve countries where the Daughters of the Holy Spirit are today present and active, all the people who refer themselves to Marie Balavenne: consecrated lay women and Associates, from now on, form the “DHS Spiritual Family”. For over one year, all of them have taken the time to celebrate, to make known Marie Balavenne, foundress of the Congregation with Renée Burel, to invite friends to this 2017 festive meeting. They particularly have taken the time to get a better understanding of this history, to make their own the attitudes of faith, gentleness, of the loving, humble and ingenious service which characterized Marie Balavenne.

 




Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître Année Marie Balavenne Mars 2016 Août 2017

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Ile Blanche, 15 août 2017 - Année Marie Balavenne ? Continuité…


Une année ? Et même plus car c’était le 19 mars 2016, que s’ouvrait solennellement à la Maison-Mère, à Saint-Brieuc, l’année Marie Balavenne. *

Et voici ce 15 août tant attendu et préparé partout où nous sommes ! Depuis le matin, les cars convergent vers l’Ile Blanche -en Locquirec, Bretagne-, Maison d’Accueil chère à la Congrégation, site merveilleux choisi pour ce rendez-vous. Dès l’arrivée, les voyageurs sont accueillis par un joyeux groupe agitant mots de bienvenue et foulards.  

Journée riche en couleurs. Les sœurs reçoivent un foulard rouge, les laïques consacrées un jaune, les associés un orange, les invités un bleu. Tout est prêt, pensé dans les moindres détails, par le Conseil Général et plusieurs commissions, pour un temps de fraternité dans la beauté et la simplicité.

Sur la prairie bordée d’arbres, une vaste estrade couverte est préparée pour la célébration : sur l’estrade, l’autel provisoire drapé de bleu, même tissu que le costume des sœurs nigérianes. Ce cadre de verdure et de mer s'y prête bien et le Douron (rivière qui longe la propriété) commence à accueillir la marée, à faire de la prairie une presqu’ île.  Déjà les musiciens s’installent, les animateurs s’activent. Un grand barnum ouvert peut abriter ou de la chaleur ou de la pluie mais assez vite les nuages laissent place au soleil propice aux rencontres, aux échanges dans les embrassades et les cris de joie. Les membres de la "Famille" venus d’Afrique et d’Amérique Latine, ajoutent aux couleurs par leurs habits de fête. De nombreuses chaises sont disposées mais, suivant la consigne, beaucoup de participants ont prévu leur pliant, ce qui donne encore de la couleur….   

Journée de joyeuse action de grâces. Prêtres et diacres nombreux prennent place. L’Eucharistie simple et belle est présidée par Mgr Dognin, Evêque de Quimper et Léon. Tous ont apprécié sa présence de Pasteur, son intérêt fraternel le portant à rester parmi nous toute la journée. Dans son homélie il a montré à la fois la place de Marie, fêtée en ce jour dans l’Eglise, et celle de Marie Balavenne. Pour les Africaines et Africains, pas de célébration sans danses ni chants, et tous soutenaient avec joie les processions rythmées par les tambourins, en chantant Maria, Maria é é é… La joie des rencontres, la joie des souvenirs de cette année si riche rayonnait sur les visages.

Journée de fraternité internationale. Cette fête du 15 août suivait une rencontre internationale de la "Famille" à laquelle participaient des membres des trois Branches -Sœurs, Consacrées séculières, Associés- venus en délégation de tous les pays. Le pique-nique a permis des rencontres, des partages improvisés dans la bonne humeur. Le début de l’après-midi, laisse le temps de prolonger les échanges et pour certaines personnes, de découvrir l’Ile Blanche, d’admirer le paysage, de regarder des vidéos, de s’exprimer en chantant et dansant. Le temps aussi d’aller dans l’espace du "Marché solidaire", d’admirer et d’acheter des objets de fabrication artisanale, venus de partout !

Un bon moment de détente a été le sketch où sont apparus Marie Balavenne, Renée Burel et d’autres grands personnages -Jean Leuduger, Gui de Montpellier, Charlotte Delaunay- souvent évoqués dans la Congrégation, venus du ciel pour ce grand jour ! Ensuite, tous ont applaudi l’arrivée de l’immense gâteau d’anniversaire préparé par les cuisiniers de l’Ile Blanche, servi rapidement par une armée de bénévoles, avec un "pétillant " ! De quoi ajouter à la liesse générale… 

Journée d’envoi en mission. Après les moments de détente, une célébration d’envoi. Le décor : des colombes blanches accrochées aux branches semblent s’envoler sous les cris des mouettes sans doute intriguées par ces intruses.

Depuis l’arrivée, chacun se sent interpellé par un grand panneau triangulaire, placé à droite de l’autel : " Conduits par l’Esprit, témoins ensemble de l’Amour qui change le monde ". Cette journée, nous rappelle sœur Anne-Marie Foucher, Supérieure Générale, n’est pas une conclusion. Aussi dans la continuité de l’intuition de Marie Balavenne, sœurs, laïques consacrées et associés se sentent à nouveau, ce jour, envoyés en mission.

Cette continuité a été ressentie très vivement par l’envoi de quatre sœurs : une Camerounaise, une Française et une Burkinabè qui, avec une Française déjà sur place, formeront communauté au Pérou et une Nigériane envoyée à l’Ile Blanche. La danse de Kénia, Chilienne, accueillant dans sa vice-province une communauté internationale, se passait de mots : un grand souffle, un cri d’espérance dans le pas à pas du quotidien ! Comme au temps de Marie Balavenne, les moyens sont si petits face aux appels entendus ! L’Esprit n’est-il pas mouvement, souffle, vent qui pousse au large ?

Le même Esprit qui nous rassemble est aussi celui qui nous envoie " dit notre Règle de Vie.  Le signe nous en a été donné par la remise d’une rose aux responsables des sept unités de la Congrégation, des laïques consacrées et des associés de tous les pays. Une rose offerte par son "éditeur" à la Famille Filles du Saint-Esprit. Une rose nommée "Marie Balavenne" ! Nous pouvons partir avec une fleur, une couleur, un parfum... pour aimer et être " Témoins ensemble de l’amour qui change le monde ".

Sœur Marie-France Cavaloc. Publié le 19/08/2017

Marie Balavenne, une humble femme du Légué -port de Saint-Brieuc- est née en 1666. Sa vie fut marquée par bien des épreuves, en particulier la mort de son mari, veuf dont elle élevait les enfants, et la perte de l’unique enfant né de leur union. Soutenue, ainsi que sa compagne Renée Burel, par Jean Leuduger, prêtre du diocèse engagé dans les " Missions Bretonnes ", ensemble elles ouvrent les yeux sur les détresses et les besoins qui les entourent. Enfants sans éducation, malades pauvres, vieillards abandonnés sont l’objet de leur attention, de leurs soins. Elles voient en eux la personne de Jésus-Christ et puisent dans l’appel à l’Esprit d’Amour, au cœur de la Trinité, la force d’aimer, la créativité pour servir les plus petits " de toutes les manières possibles ". Par vœux, elles consacrent leur vie à Dieu, le 8 décembre 1706… ignorant que, d’autres femmes les rejoignant, elles fondaient une Congrégation !

Dans les 12 pays où les Filles du Saint-Esprit sont présentes et actives, toutes les personnes qui se réfèrent aussi à Marie Balavenne : laïques consacrées et associés forment désormais la " Famille spirituelle Filles du Saint-Esprit ". Depuis plus d’un an, tous ont pris le temps de célébrer, de faire connaître Marie Balavenne, fondatrice avec Renée Burel, de la Congrégation, d’inviter des amis à ce rassemblement festif de 2017. Ils ont pris le temps surtout, de se pénétrer de cette histoire, de s’imprégner des attitudes de foi, de douceur, de sens fraternel, d’humble et ingénieux service qui caractérisaient Marie Balavenne.

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup