Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

Holy Week in Huaura. Peru


Strong moment lived during this Holy week with the people of Huaura!

On the morning of Holy Thursday, we decorated, with the associates, the church with flowers, while members of a brotherhood were busy with the floats that were going to bear the statues of the Christ, the Virgin of Sorrows and Mary Magdalene, others were preparing the place for the adoration. On this Holy Thursday, there was mass, then from 10 pm to 2 am, people took turns to adore, each parish group providing animation for one hour.

On Good Friday, each parish group again provided an animation with the 7 words of Christ in his passion. Then a "Hermandale", a sort of brotherhood, composed of men and women dressed in black suits with a red cross, took care of removing the nails of the cross to take down the statue of the Christ. Two men took it down very respectfully, a third man received it and laid it down on a table covered with flower petals.There, near the body of Jesus thus presented, each one passes with a piece of cotton to wipe the wounds of Christ, to pray, to beseech... It's really impressive because we can truly feel the strengh of the gesture! The people keep the cotton, which can be applied to ease pain or on a wound. Then the body of Jesus is carried on a float while another float carries the statue of the Virgin of Sorrows, dressed in black, with seven swords planted in her heart, and the statue of Mary Magdalene. The marching band played. The crowd tagged along... the procession lasted a good part of the night... and ended up splitting in two, so that one could follow only one float or the other.

On Holy Saturday, a fire is lit and a celebration with the sacrement of confirmation for 5 adults took place. 

The Easter Sunday mass was held at 5 am, but at 4.30 am the sounds of firecrakers reminded us that it was time to go. At the end of the mass, a procession with a float representing the Risen Christ left the church to meet his mother, the float is followed by the marching band and the crowd. When the two floats met up, they bowed very respectfully.... they removed Mary's black cloak, to reveal a blue cape, and the two floats moved forward side by side. In the front of the town hall, a short break: the mayor and his wife gave a speech and offered coffee and rolls. Then the procession returned on the streets... around 11 am, everyone found themselves facing the church where  fireworks were being set off. Then, with the same music, the statue of Jesus entered the church. The music stopped, the members of the brotherhood of the Risen Christ gave thanks, everyone prayed... and then everyone went home.

This first Holy week in Huaura, in Peru, was for me a very strong moment. A time of communion shared with these people, who by their  history identifies more with the suffering Christ even if the resurrection is also lived in a strong way. The "desclavation" where I could feel the pain of the people and see their gestures of compassion in the marks of the wounds, impressed me alot. Simple gestures, bearers of such great faith!

To each of you I wish a good journey towards the feast of Pentecost ....

Isabelle Cracco, DHS. Publish the 24 of April, 2018

Isabelle apologizes for the late sending of this story: the congregation council being the priority (see the 2 articles in "In  international family" of this site).



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Semaine Sainte à Huaura. Pérou


Moment fort que cette Semaine Sainte vécue avec le peuple de Huaura !

Le matin du Jeudi Saint, avec des associés, nous avons décoré l’église avec des fleurs pendant que des membres d’une confrérie s’activaient aux chars qui allaient recevoir les statues du Christ, de la Vierge des Douleurs et de Marie Madeleine ; d’autres préparaient le lieu pour l’adoration. Ce jeudi Saint donc, messe ; puis de 22h à 2h du matin, les gens se sont relayés pour adorer, chaque groupe paroissial assurant l’animation durant une heure.

Le Vendredi Saint, chaque groupe paroissial a de nouveau assuré une animation avec les 7 paroles de du Christ en sa passion. Puis une " hermandade ", sorte de confrérie, composée d’hommes et de femmes en costume noir avec une croix rouge, s’est chargée de retirer les clous dela Croix pour descendre la statue du Christ : deux hommes la descendent très respectueusement et un troisième homme la reçoit et la dépose sur une table couverte de pétales de fleurs. Là, près du corps de Jésus ainsi présenté, chacun passe avec un morceau de coton pour essuyer les plaies du Christ, prier, supplier… Impressionnant car on y sent vraiment la force du geste posé ! -Les gens gardent le coton qui pourra, par la suite, être appliqué sur une douleur ou une plaie-. Puis le corps de Jésus est porté sur un char tandis qu’un autre char porte la statue de la Vierge des Douleurs, de noir vêtue, avec 7 épées dans le cœur, et la statue de Marie-Madeleine. La fanfare joue. La foule accompagne… La procession dure une bonne partie de la nuit… et finit par se scinder pour ne suivre, de part et d’autre, que l’un des chars.

Le Samedi Saint, un feu, et une célébration avec le sacrement de Confirmation de 5 adultes.

La messe du Dimanche de Pâques était à 5h du matin -mais dès 4h30 des pétards la rappelait… - A la fin de la messe, une procession avec un char portant une représentation de Jésus Ressuscité sort de l’église pour aller rencontrer sa Mère ; le char est suivi à nouveau de la fanfare et de la foule. Quand les deux chars se rencontrent, ils s’inclinent très respectueusement… On retire la cape noire de Marie, pour laisser apparaître une cape bleue. Et les deux chars avancent côte à côte. Face à la mairie, petite pause : le maire et sa femme font un discours, offrent café et petits pains. Puis la procession repart dans les rues… Vers 11h, tout le monde se retrouve face à l’église où se déploie un genre de feu d’artifice. Puis, avec la même musique, la statue de Jésus entre dans l’église, suivie de celle de sa Mère ; les statues se saluent deux fois et chacune retrouve sa place dans l’église. La musique s’arrête, les membres de la confrérie du Christ Ressuscité rendent grâce, tout le monde prie… Et chacun rentre chez lui.

Cette première Semaine Sainte à Huaura, au Pérou, a été pour moi un temps très fort. Temps de communion partagé avec ce peuple qui, de par son histoire, s’identifie plus au Christ souffrant, même si la Résurrection est également vécue de manière forte. La "desclavation" où je pouvais sentir la peine des gens et voir leurs gestes de compassion aux traces de blessures, m’a beaucoup impressionnée. Gestes simples, porteurs d’une si grande foi !

A chacune, bonne marche vers la fête de Pentecôte.

Isabelle Cracco, FSE. Publié le 23 avril 2018

Isabelle s’excuse de l’envoi tardif de ce récit : le Conseil de Congrégation obligeait ! (voir les 2 articles dans « En Famille internationale » de ce site).

 

 

 

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup