Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

Our life in veritas, the catholic university of Nigeria. Abuja


It was all amazing on 9th September, 2014 when our vice-provincial, Sr. Monica Anyi put a call across to us; Patience Effiong, Grace Abah and Justina Akubo (DHS) about the resumption of our school Veritas Catholic University Abuja. We felt happy as we began our journey to Abuja to commence our studies. We were three out of the 16 religious-beneficiaries of ASEC scholarship. We appreciate God and thank the African Sisters Education Collaborative (ASEC) and our congregation for this great opportunity.

To refresh our memory and to prepare for the main programme, we joined other students for the Foundation Year Programme which lasted for two months. During this period, we studied subjects of our choices and wrote the recommended examination which we all did well. It was on 22nd November, 2014 that we started our first degree programme formally.

Living together. Initially, we lived in the school hostel as student-sisters. Up to date, we witness to the Gospel of Christ and the Charism of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit in our little way of communal life. Before we resumed school, we had our General Assembly where we chose our orientation “Rooted in the Love of the Trinity” for the year 2014/2015. We created chance on how to live our orientation. We also shared our formation study together. We do our community prayer, recollection, meals, and meetings in our little corner to keep us in the spirit of the congregation. In the University, we participate with our fellow students in religious and academic programmes.

Together, we had a common renewal of vows with other congregations on 2nd February, 2015 (Consecrated Life Day) at the chaplaincy and this made a great impact in us as we celebrated the Year of Consecrated Life. On the day of Pentecost, our principal feast day, the three of us renewed our commitment in the chaplaincy and we had our celebration back in our hostel. We do celebrate our birthdays together as we do back in our communities. Each of us identifies with a pious society and association in the chaplaincy such as; Legion of Mary, Catholic Charismatic Renewal and choir respectively.

The bond that exists among us is what keeps us going. Despite the stress of our academic work, we come back to share our experiences, we affirm one another’s gift, we reconcile with one another when there is a misunderstanding. Our success also comes from the support we give one another. Through our simple way of life, it was possible for us to discover children from the neighbouring village ‘’Zuma II’’ who became our friends. Gradually, our close relationship with the children drew them to worship with us in the chaplaincy from time to time. We were touched by the gestures of these children as they shared with us their little gifts such as groundnuts and beautiful smiles. They also led us to know their parents and families. Today, what we started as a mere friendly conversation has led to the establishment of children’s liturgy where we take care of and teach children on Sundays in the two out-stations; St, Gabriel Gaba and St. Anthony Zuma 11. We have about two-hundred children altogether whom we teach. With this, the number keeps increasing as parents have come to cherish our service.

As days went by, our number increased from three to five sisters with Sr. Rita Oye and Sr. Mercy Aghahowa. They also fit into our simple communal living and that of sharing our apostolate with the children. Life is not so easy in an academic environment such as ours. We encounter some challenges in our different areas of study, but with our togetherness, we face the challenging situations with faith. As day go by, we realise more, the essence of being sent on a mission like this. We are grateful to our congregation, ASEC and Veritas University. Veritas University is a faith-based institution of learning where we continue with our formation and help forming others who are less informed. From our experiences so far, we have gained a lot, not just as students, but as religious (DHS) and this has helped us to do well in our studies and to become balanced in our way life.

Effiong Patience, Abah Grace and Akubo Justina, Aghahowa Mercy and Oye Rita (DHS) - Published on May 3, 2018



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Notre vie à l’Université Catholique Veritas d'Abuja. Nigeria


Reste prodigieux l’appel qu'avait adressé notre Vice-provinciale, Monica Anyi, le 9 septembre 2014, à Grace Abah, à Justina Akudo et à moi-même, Patience Effiong, FSE, de reprendre nos cours à l'Université Catholique Veritas d'Abuja ! Dès que nous avions entrepris le voyage vers Abuja, nous étions remplies de joie à l'idée de reprendre nos études. Nous étions trois sœurs sur 16 à bénéficier d’une bourse scolaire de l'ASEC (Education Collaborative des  Sœurs Africaines). Nous remercions Dieu et sommes reconnaissantes à l'ASEC ainsi qu'à notre congrégation pour cette immense opportunité.

Pour nous préparer au programme principal de la Fondation, nous avions rejoint, durant deux mois, d'autres étudiants de ce programme. Pendant cette période, nous avons étudié les matières que nous avions choisies et avons passé les examens écrits que nous avons réussis. Nous avons commencé notre programme formel de premier degré le 22 novembre 2014.

Vivre ensemble. Initialement, nous vivions au foyer de l'école comme des Sœurs étudiantes. Tous les jours, nous tentions de vivre l'Evangile du Christ et le charisme des Filles du Saint Esprit dans notre nouvelle situation de vie communautaire. Nous avions eu notre assemblée générale de Vice-province avant cette reprise de nos études et nous avions choisi notre orientation pour l’année 2014/2015 : " Enracinées dans l'amour de la Trinité ". Entre nous, à Abuja, nous échangions sur les possibilités de vivre cette orientation et partagions nos cours. Nous faisions nos prières communautaires et prenions des temps de recueillement... A l'Université nous participions, avec nos camarades étudiants, aux programmes religieux et académiques.

Ensemble, le 2 février 2015 (jour de la vie consacrée), nous avions renouvelé nos vœux à l’aumônerie, conjointement avec d'autres congrégations : grand impact en nous pour cette année de la vie consacrée ! Le jour de Pentecôte, notre principale fête, nous y avions également renouvelé notre engagement… Chacune de nous s’était impliquée, à l’aumônerie, dans une fraternité telle la Légion de Marie, le Renouveau charismatique catholique ou la chorale. 

Dans notre foyer, nous célébrons nos anniversaires comme nous le faisions en communautés. Les liens entre nous nous permettaient d’avancer malgré le stress de notre travail académique, de nous retrouver pour partager nos expériences, renforcer et affermir les dons des unes et des autres, de nous réconcilier quand un malentendu survenait. Notre entente était due au fait que nous nous supportions respectivement les unes les autres. Grâce à notre mode de vie simple, il nous a été possible de découvrir les enfants du village voisin, " Zuma 11 ", qui sont devenus nos amis. Notre étroite relation avec eux les a progressivement amenés à venir prier de temps à autre avec nous. Nous étions très touchées par les petites attentions qu’ils avaient à notre égard, les petits cadeaux tels des arachides, un beau sourire… Ils nous ont également amenées à rencontrer leurs parents et leurs familles. Ce que nous avions commencé comme une simple conversation amicale avec eux, nous a conduites à la mise en place d'une liturgie pour eux tous les dimanches, à deux endroits différents : Saint Gabriel et Anthony Zuma 11. Nous avons maintenant, approximativement, 200 enfants auxquels nous donnons des cours. Les parents apprécient les services que nous avons mis en place et… le nombre d'enfants ne cesse d'augmenter !

Au fil du temps, nous sommes passées de trois à cinq Sœurs avec l'arrivée de sœur Rita Oye et sœur Mercy Aghahowa qui toutes deux se sont adaptées à notre vie communautaire et à notre apostolat avec les enfants. La vie n'est pas si simple dans un environnement académique et nous faisons face à des défis dans différents domaines d'étude… Notre unité et notre foi nous aident à affronter des situations difficiles. Jour après jour, nous prenons conscience de plus en plus de l’aspect fondamental de notre envoi dans ce lieu. Nous sommes profondément reconnaissantes envers notre congrégation, l'ASEC et l'Université Veritas, institution d'apprentissage basée sur la foi, où nous continuons notre formation tout en aidant d'autres. Jusqu’à présent notre expérience nous a été très bénéfique en tant qu'étudiantes et en tant que religieuses, étudiant au mieux et trouvant un certain équilibre à notre mode de vie.

Effiong Patience, Abah Grace, Akubo Justina, Aghahowa Mercy et Oye Rita Filles du Saint Esprit. Publié le 3 mai 2018.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup