Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

First Profession of Vows


Province of England, Ireland, Wales. On a glorious summer’s day, June 26th 2018, Sister Marilou Iway made her first Profession of Vows in the Parish Church of Our Lady, Help of Christians and St Lawrence, Olney, Bucks. This was an ideal venue for such an occasion. St Joseph’s Convent, Olney, is one of our first ‘Houses of Charity’. Our sisters have lived and worked in this parish and town since 1902. The First Professions of seven sisters took place here in April, 1918, as the war prevented them from going to France. History was being made again, on a smaller scale, with Marilou’s First Profession, 100 years later! Being close to the church made it possible for all the sisters in St. Joseph’s Care Unit to take part. Sister Francis Mary, with great sadness, was unable to attend this significant event. As the sisters, local associates and a few friends of Marilou arrived, there was a palpable air of joy, expectation and a warmth of welcome extended to all.

After the singing of ‘Come Holy Ghost’ Sister Regina Bond, Provincial, warmly welcomed everyone, especially our chief celebrant, Mgr Sean Healy and Fathers Mark Floody, Anthony McDermott, and John Fowler, who were assisted by Deacon David of Oscott Seminary. The chief server was Bill Senior, an associate. The congregation continued to sing with full voice accompanied by Judy Ashford, the parish organist, also an associate. For the psalm and responses we were led by Sister Josephine Walsh who sang beautifully, and with feeling. The hymns and readings were chosen by Marilou who also printed and artistically designed the special Mass booklet. Everyone listened very attentively to the Rite of Profession, especially at the very solemn moment when Marilou pronounced her vows of chastity, poverty and obedience with clarity and sincerity.

This was the first time that our associates and the friends of Marilou had witnessed the profession of a Religious Sister. Afterwards they made comments such as: ‘I feel so very happy, honoured and privileged to be here… the service was so simple and impressive…we have been given a wonderful insight into Religious Life through Mgr Healy’s homily, the questions and answers in the Rite of Profession, the giving and the symbolism of the dove… It was all very moving.’

After Mass, Marilou was joyfully congratulated on her special day. It was particularly poignant to see our sisters from the Care Unit, their faces radiant with joy, congratulating her. We then made our way to the nearby Olney Centre for a simple celebratory meal.

It is quite a while now since we last had a Profession in our Province. We, and especially Sister Marilou, have been touched by the many messages of congratulations, love and prayer from our sisters throughout the Congregation. We praise and thank God for this spirit of love and solidarity shared among us. Let us continue to pray for new life, new members, to our DHS Spiritual Family in all our Provinces and Vice Provinces.

Sister Patricia Anne Purchase - Published July 4, 2018

Extracts from Mgr Healy’s homily:

The word which is at the heart of our readings today is the word ‘love.’ That is surely right as Marilou commits herself in this first profession of her religious vows. In love she commits herself to Christ and his Church; out of love she will serve the communities where she lives and works…In the gospel, Jesus invites us to remain in his love…to put him at the centre of our lives, to live in that love and to allow it to change and transform us…For the Religious the relationship with Christ must truly become the central relationship of her life. She must come to know the Lord as friend, brother, lover, companion and saviour…this love which has been given to us must be a love that is shared…So the Religious must bring that word of love by being close to all people, especially those who are most disadvantaged but also to those who feel comfortable…No wonder at the beginnings of the Congregation of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit their communities were known as ‘Houses of Charity.’ So Marilou, this is what you commit yourself to today – to be a person who knows Christ and his love for you, to share that love with sisters, consecrated seculars and associates, to all the people you are called to serve. You follow the evangelical counsels…Poverty reminds you that Christ is your only treasure…chastity reminds you that chaste love is experienced in the loving embrace of your communities and obedience is experienced as you listen to the guidance of your superiors who, having discerned your gifts and talents, place you in settings where those same gifts and talents will radiate love to all around you. And do not be afraid, Marilou! You are joining a Congregation with a long and proud history which from its earliest beginnings with Marie Balavenne and Renee Burel has faced many challenging times! Know that the Spirit is with you, calling on you in the face of challenges and opportunities to renew the face of the earth in the company of these good and faithful sisters.

The photos.

1, 2, 3:  Rite of Profession

4: Marilou receives the dove from Sister Regina

5: Blessing by Mgr. Sean Healy

6, 7: After Mass

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Engagement en vie religieuse


Province d'Angleterre, d'Irlande, Pays de Galle. En cette merveilleuse journée d'été du 26 Juin 2018, Soeur Marilou Iway a prononcé ses premiers voeux en l'église paroissiale “Our Lady”, Olney, Bucks. L'endroit se prêtait idéalement à cet événement marquant. Le couvent St Joseph d’Olney est l'une de nos premières “Maisons de Charité“. Nos soeurs ont vécu et travaillé dans cette paroisse et cette ville depuis 1902. C'est en ce lieu qu’ont été célébrées les premières professions de sept soeurs ne pouvant se rendre en France pendant la guerre de 1918. Ce jour, c'est à une plus petite échelle que l'histoire s'y écrit une nouvelle fois, avec la Première Profession de Marilou, 100 ans plus tard ! L'Unité de soins d’Olney étant proche de l'église, il a été possible à toutes les soeurs d'y participer, néanmoins grande tristesse pour Soeur Francis Mary dans l'incapacité d’y être ! Au fur et à mesure que les soeurs, les associés locaux et les quelques amis de Marilou arrivaient, un air de joie palpable se faisait sentir dans l’accueil chaleureux offert à tous.

Après le chant “Viens Esprit-Saint“, Soeur Regina Bond, Provinciale, a chaleureusement souhaité la bienvenue à tous, en particulier au célébrant principal, Monseigneur Sean Healy et les Pères Mark Floody, Anthony McDermott et John Flower, assistés du diacre David, du séminaire d'Oscott. Le maître de cérémonie était Bill Senior, un associé. Après cette présentation, les soeurs ont repris leur chant accompagnées par l'organiste paroissiale, Judy Ashford, également associée. Le psaume et son refrain ont été animés par Soeur Joséphine Walsh qui, elle-même, l'a chanté magnifiquement avec grande sensibilité. Les hymnes et les lectures ont été choisies par Marilou qui les a présentées artistiquement dans le livret de la célébration. C'est avec grande attention que tout le monde a écouté le Rite de Profession, tout particuliérement au moment très solennel où Marilou a prononcé ses voeux de chasteté, de pauvreté et d'obéissance d'une manière claire et sincère.

C'était la première fois que les associés et les amis de Marilou étaient témoins de la profession religieuse d'une soeur. Ils en ont émis les réflexions suivantes : “ Je me sens très heureux, honoré et privilégié d'être ici… La célébration a été si simple et impressionnante… Nous avons eu un aperçu merveilleux de la vie religieuse à travers l'homélie de Mgr Healy, les questions et réponses du Rite de Profession, le don et le symbolisme de la colombe : c'étaient des moments très émouvants. “

En cette journée spéciale, après la messe, Marilou a été joyeusement félicitée. C'était particulièrement émouvant de voir les soeurs de l'Unité de soins, le visage radieux, plein de joie, la féliciter. Nous nous sommes ensuite rendus au centre d’Olney, non loin, pour un simple repas de fête.

Cela faisait longtemps que nous n'avions pas eu de profession religieuse dans notre Province. Nous avons été touchées, et plus particulièrement Soeur Marilou, par les nombreux messages de félicitations, d'affection et de prières des Soeurs de toute la Congrégation. Nous louons et remercions Dieu pour cet esprit de fraternité et de solidarité partagé entre nous. Continuons à prier pour qu’adviennent de nouveaux membres, pour notre Famille spirituelle des Filles du Saint-Esprit dans toutes les Provinces et Vice Provinces.

Sister Patricia Anne Purchase - Publié le 4 juillet 2018

Extraits de l'homélie de Mgr Healy

Le mot qui est au coeur de nos lectures aujourd'hui est le mot “AMOUR“, ce qui me semble juste au moment où Marilou s'engage dans cette première profession de voeux religieux. Par amour, elle s'offre à Jésus-Christ et à son Eglise, par amour elle servira les communautés où elle vivra et travaillera… Dans l'Evangile, Jésus nous invite à demeurer dans son amour… à le mettre au centre de nos vies, à vivre dans cet amour et à lui permettre de nous changer et de nous transformer... Pour une religieuse, cette relation avec le Christ doit vraiment devenir la relation centrale de sa vie. Elle doit apprendre à connaitre le Seigneur comme un ami, un frère, un amant, un compagnon et Sauveur… Cet amour qui nous a été donné doit être un amour à partager… Ainsi, le religieux doit apporter cette parole d'amour en étant proche des gens, en particulier les gens les plus défavorisés, mais aussi ceux qui se sentent à l'abri du besoin… Pas étonnant qu'au début de la Congrégation des Filles du Saint Esprit, leurs communautés étaient connues sous le nom de “Maisons de la Charité“ ! Voici, Marilou, ce à quoi vous vous êtes engagée aujourd'hui : à être une personne qui connaît le Christ et son amour, à partager cet amour avec les Soeurs, les consacrées séculières et les associés et avec toutes les personnes que vous serez appelée à servir. Vous vous êtes engagée à suivre les conseils évangéliques : la pauvreté vous rappelle que le Christ est votre seul trésor… , la chasteté vous rappelle que l'amour chaste est expérimenté dans la relation fraternelle de vos communautés et que l'obéissance doit être vécue en écoutant les conseils de vos responsables qui, ayant discerné vos dons et talents, vous placeront dans les environnements où ces mêmes dons et talents feront rayonner l'amour autour de vous. Et n'ayez pas peur, Marilou ! Vous rejoignez une Congrégation possédant une longue et fière histoire qui, depuis ses tout premiers débuts, avec Marie Balavenne et Renée Burel, a fait face à beaucoup de moments difficiles ! Sachez que l'Esprit est avec vous et vous appelle, avec les défis et opportunités, à renouveler la face de la terre en compagnie de ces soeurs bonnes et fidèles.

Les photos.

1, 2, 3 : Rite de Profession

4 : Marilou recevant la Colombe des mains de Soeur Regina

5 : Bénédiction de Mgr. Sean Healy

6, 7 : Après la messe  

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup