Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

Our spiritual experience in the School of Spirituality


Following our first article published on July 27th 2018, the school of Spirituality has offered us plenty “Water from the Source,” we have drunk and we wish to share the joy that springs up from this “Source.”

The thirteen of us began gradually to open up with respect to each other’s sacred space. Voila! Fraternal relationship started! International community is formed. Friendship intensified indeed, we shared in each other’s joys and sorrows through our lived experience in the school of Spirituality. Living among our older sisters at the Mother House -Saint-Brieuc, France- was also a blessing to us and the sisters. We are indeed companions on the journey in the footsteps of Marie Balavenne and Renée Burel.

In order to explore our DHS Spirituality, we were taught how the Spirituality of various spiritual fathers of the period our congregation came to birth, influenced our Spirituality as a congregation. -Spiritual Fathers like: Frs. Louis Lallemant, Vincent Huby, Jean-Joseph Surin, Jean Leuduger and Francis de Sales-. We came to understand and appreciate the spiritual attitudes of our congregation better.

We are filled with awe to discover the beauty and richness embedded in the Present Rule because it was born out of the lived experiences of our sisters. No wonder, this rule is always alive! We discover that Docility to the Holy Spirit through Simplicity, Humility and Gentleness -little virtues that are needed in everyday life- is a gift to be received and cherished. We have a beautiful heritage! We were all drawn to the method used to explore our Rules and are ready to apply the same to help other sisters to rediscover, appreciate and live out the Rule of Life in our units.

It was fascinating when we studied at the place of the Trinity, Scriptures and especially Mary in our Rule of Life. Mary is to be given her real place as the woman totally surrendered to the Holy Spirit, a real model of faith journey towards God.

We had the opportunity to participate in the diocesan Pilgrimage to Querrien on the feast day of Assumption. The Bishop of Périgueux spoke of Mary in his homily as if he was present with us during our session on Mary. What a joyful evening we had with the bishop of Saint Brieuc, Mgr Denis Moutel who celebrated mass for us and over a meal, shared about the diocese: synod, priests fidei donum, and his joy of having 8 seminarians…

The visit of our sisters and friends on the 18th - 19th of August was life-giving. We are also grateful to all who took the pain, either through letters, phone calls and otherwise, to show us affection and love.

Our last session was on our Spiritual family – what a wonderful discovery! Secular Branch is another form of consecrated life. We also received more light on the statutes of the Associates.

The school of Spirituality has been for each of us an enlightening, enriching and empowering experience. We remain forever grateful for such opportunity given to us by the General Council and the leadership team of various Units; to our dynamic organising team, who, gave us the best without counting the cost; to all those who contributed to our growth: our teachers, service team of our archives, and those who worked behind the scene (translators, secretary, kitchen crew, maintenance team and all) to make the programme a success.

“To whom much is given, much is expected” (Lc 12:48). We are filled with new energy to transmit what we have received.

Stella OLUWAFEMI, DHS - Nigeria. Published August 24, 2018

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Notre expérience spirituelle à l'Ecole de Spiritualité


Suite à notre premier article publié le 27 juillet 2018, l'Ecole de Spiritualité nous a offert beaucoup d' " Eau de la Source ", nous avons bu et nous souhaitons partager la joie qui jaillit de cette " Source ".

Nous, les treize, avons commencé progressivement à nous ouvrir avec respect à l'espace sacré de l'autre. Voila ! La relation fraternelle a démarré, la communauté internationale s’est formée. L'amitié s’est intensifiée vraiment ; nous avons partagé les joies et les peines des unes et des autres à travers notre expérience de vie à l'Ecole de Spiritualité. Vivre parmi nos sœurs aînées à la Maison-Mère -Saint-Brieuc, France- a aussi été une bénédiction pour nous et pour elles. Nous sommes vraiment des compagnes de route sur les traces de Marie Balavenne et Renée Burel.

Afin d'explorer notre spiritualité FSE, nous avons appris comment la Spiritualité de divers maîtres spirituels de la période où notre congrégation est née, a influencé notre Spiritualité en tant que congrégation. -Maîtres spirituels comme : les Pères Louis Lallemant, Vincent Huby, Jean-Joseph Surin, Jean Leuduger et François de Sales-. Nous avons mieux compris et apprécié les attitudes spirituelles de notre congrégation.

Nous sommes émerveillées de découvrir la beauté et la richesse inhérentes à la Règle de Vie actuelle, car elle est née des expériences vécues par nos sœurs. Pas étonnant que cette Règle soit toujours vivante ! Nous découvrons que la docilité à l'Esprit Saint à travers la simplicité, l'humilité et la douceur -petites vertus nécessaires dans la vie quotidienne- est un cadeau à recevoir et à chérir. Nous avons un beau patrimoine ! Nous avons toutes été très intéressées par la méthode employée pour explorer notre Règle de Vie et sommes prêtes à faire de même pour aider d’autres sœurs à redécouvrir, apprécier et vivre la Règle de Vie dans nos Unités.

C'était fascinant d’étudier la place de la Trinité, des Écritures et surtout de Marie dans notre Règle de Vie. Marie doit recevoir sa vraie place en tant que femme totalement soumise au Saint-Esprit, véritable modèle de chemin de foi vers Dieu. 

Nous avons eu l'occasion de participer au pèlerinage diocésain à Querrien le jour de la fête de l'Assomption. L'évêque de Périgueux a parlé de Marie dans son homélie comme s'il avait été présent avec nous lors de notre session sur Marie ! Quelle joyeuse soirée nous avons eue avec l'évêque de Saint Brieuc, Mgr Denis Moutel, qui a célébré la messe pour nous et après le repas, nous a parlé de son diocèse : le Synode, les prêtres Fidei Donum et sa joie d'avoir 8 séminaristes...

La visite de nos sœurs et amis, les 18 et le 19 août, a été source de vie. Nous sommes également reconnaissantes envers tous ceux qui ont pris la peine, que ce soit par lettres, appels téléphoniques ou autres, de nous manifester affection et amour.

Notre dernière session était sur notre Famille spirituelle : quelle merveilleuse découverte ! La branche séculière est une autre forme de vie consacrée. Nous avons également reçu plus de lumière sur le statut des Associés.

L'école de spiritualité a été pour chacune de nous une expérience éclairante, enrichissante et stimulante. Nous resterons toujours reconnaissantes envers le Conseil Général et les Responsables des différentes Unités pour cette opportunité qui nous a été offerte, notre dynamique équipe organisatrice qui nous a donné le meilleur sans compter sa peine, et envers tous ceux qui ont contribué à notre croissance : nos enseignants, l’équipe de notre service des Archives et ceux qui ont travaillé derrière la scène (traducteurs, secrétaire, équipe de cuisine, équipe de maintenance) pour faire du programme un succès.

" À qui est beaucoup donné, il sera beaucoup demandé " (Luc 12, 48)Nous sommes remplies d'une énergie nouvelle pour transmettre ce que nous avons reçu.

Stella OLUWAFEMI, FSE - Nigériane. Publié le 24 août 2018



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup