Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

Cameroon : vocational camp.


Helping the youth give meaning to their life, has become a strong pastoral approach in the heart of the Church. After the national youths days, the month of July in Garoua, the diocese of Yagoua left the organization of the various diocesan youth meetings to the appreciation of each pastoral zone. It is in this sense that the chaplaincy of the youth of Doukoula organized, from the 24th to the 26th of August 2018, in the parish of “Notre Dame des Lumières”  (Our Lady of the Lights) of Touloum, a vocational camp having for subject of reflexion: "Speak, for your servant is listening" (1 Sam 3,10).

Out of the 8 parishes in the Doukoula pastoral zone (Djiguilao, Doukoula, Golonpoui, Guidiguis, Kalfou, Moulvoudaye, Tchatibali et Touloum), 35 young individuals participated. On Friday afternoon, day of their arrival, after their presentations, the chaplain, Father Thaddée Djonlai, Oblate of Mary Immaculate, introduced the programme: prayers, adoration, exchanges, accompaniment, sharing, testimonies of life, history of the congregations and evaluation. On Saturday, after the Eucharist and breakfast, the testimonies of an Abbot, a clergyman and a nun occupied the rest of the time. Abbot Gilbert, priest of the parish of Moulvoudaye, spoke about priestly life. Father Thadée acted as a clergyman and spoke about the oblate of Mary Immaculate. Sister Vedette Ndaokai, Daughter of the Holy Spirit, gave to the youth a presentation on the outlines of the history of her religious vocation and that of her congregation. Obviously, after each speaker, the youth could ask questions for more understanding: "What level of study is needed to become a priest or a nun? What is the training like?…." At all times the young people showed interest and expressed it to us by singing songs of gratitude and by other significant gestures. The afternoon was dedicated to personal accompaniments for those who wished it, to individual prayers with the possibility of adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. At the end of each presentation, the youth were invited to reconsider the importance of  prayer, of silence, of the re-reading of life as daily discernment, practices that lead to self-confidence, to God and in each person who can help to better orient one's life.

On Sunday morning, during the Eucharistic celebration with the parishioners of Touloum, the young people gave thanks to the Lord and invited the assembly to pray for the different vocations. As if to join the act to the word, the parish priest introduced the sisters who were there: Monique and myself; in doing so the young girls came to us after the mass… a happy time to talk a little bit longer!

Sister Vedette Ndaokaï, DHS - Published September 3, 1018



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Cameroun : camp vocationnel.


Aider les jeunes à donner un sens à leur vie, relève d’une pastorale de plus en plus accentuée au sein de l’Eglise. Après les journées nationales des jeunes, le mois de juillet à Garoua, le diocèse de Yagoua a laissé l’organisation des différentes rencontres diocésaines des jeunes à l’appréciation de chaque zone pastorale. C’est dans ce sens que l’aumônerie de la jeunesse de Doukoula a organisé, du 24 au 26 août 2018, en la paroisse " Notre Dame des Lumières " de Touloum, un camp vocationnel ayant pour sujet de réflexion : " Parle Seigneur, ton serviteur écoute " (1Sam 3,10).

Des 8 paroisses que compte la zone pastorale de Doukoula (Djiguilao, Doukoula, Golonpoui, Guidiguis, Kalfou, Moulvoudaye, Tchatibali et Touloum), 35 jeunes y ont participé. Le vendredi après-midi, jour de leur arrivée, et après leurs présentations, l’aumônier, le Père Thaddée Djonlaï, Oblat de Marie immaculée, a introduit le programme : prières, adoration, échanges, accompagnement, partages, témoignages de vie, histoire des congrégations et évaluation. Le samedi, après l’eucharistie et le petit-déjeuner, le temps a été occupé à l’écoute de témoignages d’un abbé, d’un religieux et d’une religieuse. L’abbé Gilbert, curé de la paroisse de Moulvoudaye, a parlé de la vie sacerdotale. Le Père Thaddée est intervenu en tant que religieux et leur a parlé des Oblats de Marie Immaculée. Sœur Vedette Ndaokaï, Fille du Saint-Esprit, a exposé aux jeunes les grandes lignes de l’histoire de sa vocation religieuse et celles de sa congrégation. Bien évidemment, après chaque intervenant, les jeunes pouvaient poser des questions pour plus de compréhension : " Pour devenir prêtre ou sœur, quel niveau d’étude ? Comment se passe la formation ?..." A tous moments les jeunes se montraient intéressés et ils nous l’exprimaient par des chants de remerciement et tout autre geste reconnaissant. L’ après-midi, place à l’accompagnement personnel pour ceux qui le désiraient, à la prière individuelle avec possibilité d’adoration du Saint Sacrement. Au terme de chaque exposé, les jeunes étaient appelés à reconsidérer l’importance de la prière, du silence, de la relecture de vie comme discernement quotidien, pratiques qui conduisent à la confiance en soi, en Dieu, et en toute personne qui peut aider à mieux orienter sa vie.

Le dimanche matin au cours de la célébration eucharistique avec les fidèles chrétiens de Touloum, les jeunes ont rendu grâce au Seigneur et ont invité toute l’assemblée à prier pour les différentes vocations. Comme pour joindre l’acte à la parole, le curé de la paroisse a présenté les sœurs qui s’y trouvaient : Monique et moi-même ; par ce fait des jeunes filles nous ont rejointes après la messe… heureux moment pour se parler encore !

Sœur Vedette Ndaokaï, F.S.E. Publié le 3 septembre 2018.

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup