Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

25 Years of God’s faithfulness and love.


The silver Jubilee Celebration of our three sisters Priscilla Madumere, Sister Anthonia Ayeni and Sister. Mary Abodunrin began on the 7th of September, 2018, the eve of the celebration. Gathered together for this great occasion were the Daughters of the Holy Spirit family, sisters from other religious congregations, families of the celebrants, friends, parishioners and well-wishers.  The celebration commenced with a prayer session led by the ‘jubilarians’. They chose the Icon of the Holy Trinity for their prayer, symbolizing their spiritual journey which portrays the relationship they’ve always strived to live with the triune God in the example of our foundresses and all those who have followed in their footstep.

A joyful day! 8th of September, 2018, the date on which the Church celebrates the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary also marked the celebration of the silver jubilee of the religious profession of our three sisters. The celebration started with Holy mass at 10:00am at St. Lawrence Catholic Church, Imo- Ilesa. The bishop of the diocese of Osogbo was represented by his Vicar It began with a brief history of the congregation presented to the faithful present. During the celebration, the ‘jubilarians’ renewed their commitments to God in faithfulness to their vows of Chastity, poverty and obedience. The homilist in his reflection gave a brief explanation on the vows. Chastity- the exceptional gift of self-giving to the Lord, Poverty- the mystery of self-abandonment and Obedience- the mystery of self-surrendering to the will of God as Christ Himself did. During the offering procession, a CHALICE, the ICON of the TRINITY and the RULE OF LIFE were presented as symbols. The chalice- a sign of Christ divine sacrifice. The Icon of the Trinity signifies the Trinitarian love in which our charism and spirituality are rooted. The Rule of Life, symbol of their commitment in the Congregation to live out unity in diversity with others in community, trying to witness to the tender love of God in our world.

With grateful hearts, singing and dancing, the ‘jubilarians’ had their thanksgiving joined-in by everyone present. After the mass, came the second part of the celebration which is the reception where everyone was entertained with presentations such as singing special songs, dancing choreography, cutting of cake and menu. The celebration came to an end at 03:45pm with a concluding prayer and everyone departed joyfully. It was an occasion for us, the Daughters of the Holy Spirit of the Nigerian Vice-province present, to give thanks to God with our sisters Priscilla, Mary and Anthonia for God’s blessings and faithfulness in their lives as Daughters of the Holy Spirit in our Congregation.

Sister Mercy Itohan. Published September 13, 2018.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

25 années de fidélité et d'amour de Dieu


Pour cette grande occasion de la célébration du Jubilé d'argent des Soeurs Priscilla Madumere, Anthonia Ayeni et Mary Abodunrin, la Famille des Filles du Saint-Esprit, des soeurs venant d'autres Congrégations, les familles des célébrantes, amis, paroissiens et bien pensants se sont réunis le 7 septembre, veille de la fête, pour un temps de prière guidée par les “Jubilaires”. Elles avaient choisi l'Icône de la Sainte Trinité, symbolisant leur cheminement spirituel et représentant la relation qu'elles ont toujours aspiré à vivre avec le Dieu Trinité, à l'exemple de nos Fondatrices et de toutes celles qui ont marché à leur suite.

Le 8 septembre, date où l'Eglise célèbre la Nativité de la bienheureuse Vierge Marie et, ce même jour, la célébration de ces jubilés d’argent, a été une journée pleine de joie ! La messe de 10h, en l’église catholique Saint Laurent, Imo-Llesa, où l'évéque du Diocèse de Osogbo était représenté par le Vicaire, a débuté par une brève présentation de l’histoire de la Congrégation aux fidèles. Puis les “Jubilaires” ont renouvelé leur engagement envers Dieu dans la fidélité de leurs voeux de Chasteté, de Pauvreté et d'Obeissance dont l’homélie avait donné une brève explication : la Chasteté, don exceptionnel de soi-même au Seigneur, la Pauvreté, mystère de renoncement de soi et l'Obeissance, mystère d’abandon à la volonté de Dieu, à l'image du Christ. Lors de la procession des offrandes, le Calice, l'Icône de la Trinité et la Règle de Vie ont été présentés ainsi : le Calice signifie le sacrifice du Christ, l'Icône de la Trinité signifie l'amour Trinitaire dans lequel est enraciné notre Charisme, et la Règle de Vie concrétise notre engagement à vivre en Congrégation, en communauté avec d’autres, l'unité dans la diversité, en cherchant à être témoins de l'amour de Dieu dans notre monde. C'est avec un coeur plein de reconnaissance, des chants et des danses que les “Jubilaires” ont manifesté leur action de grâce, rejointes par tous les gens présents.

Après la messe, tout le monde a été réjoui par des chants, des chorégraphies, des danses… jusqu’au moment de partager le gâteau. La célébration s'est terminée en fin d’après-midi par une dernière prière et chacun est reparti le coeur plein de joie. Ce fut une occasion pour nous, Filles du Saint-Esprit de la Vice Province du Nigéria, de rendre grâce à Dieu avec nos soeurs Priscilla, Mary et Anthonia pour les bénédictions et la fidélité de Dieu dans leur vie de Filles du Saint Esprit, en Congrégation.

Soeur Mercy Itohan. Publié le 13 septembre 2018

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup