Homepage
JUSTICE and SOLIDARITY Justice, Non-violence, Integrity of creation

Français | English | Español
Identification

The migratory question today...


On Saturday, November 17th 2018, was held in Saint Brieuc, France, the annual day organized by the group "Justice, non-violence, integrity of the creation" of the province France-Belgium-Holland devoted to the migratory issues of today: Understanding, by coming back on history, by confronting the official texts with the facts, by taking the measure of the initiatives of the associations… To Act, in justice and fraternity, whilst acknowledging the laws and rules in force, to take "a step aside", to initiate a change of mentalities and legislative provisions… to find where is the justice and the accuracy of an initiative even risking an audacious approach.                          Despite the road blocks decided that day, 41 people were present out of the 46 registered.

"Wherever they go, they are sad at the party. Wherever they go… they are alone in their head… I want to sing for those who are far from home and who have in their eyes something that hurts, that hurts…". This song written by Michel Berger, sung for the migrants of Calais, opened the day; it is still echoing in us… We knew a little of the speaker,  Ms Céline Dumont, a research professor in linguistics, member of the Cimade (association working in active solidarity with migrants, refugees and asylum seekers) and a volunteer in many activities regarding migrants; few days prior to that meeting, several participants were eager to reread, in "La Colombe" (review of the congregation-2018, n°52) her testimony: "20 years with migrants. A birth that marks forever."

This Saturday, we had the chance to see her, to hear from her, to directly receive her testimony as a committed women, a speech given with clarity and simplicity, with disinterest and humility; we were sensitive to her way of relating her experiences of unprecedented situations that she takes into consideration at anytime! As a linguist, in a concrete and pedagogical way, she denounced the confusion brought about by words that can by tricky or misunderstood, such as the terms of: Migrants (emigrants/immigrants), Asylum (right to asylum, asylum seeker), Refugees, Foreigners, "Undocumented migrants"... From her rich experiences, told with clarity and accuracy, emerges her will to fully understand each situation before acting, to provide tangible solutions to confusing or controversial issues raised. Through video links, she made us listen to other voices which clarified, when needed, her lecture, a testimony earning our admiration. Throughout the day, we felt, thanks to her competence, the necessity to make quite clear the complexity of the particular situations in which the migrants are immersed, before finding solutions with them and for them, enabling tailor-made solutions for each individual.

Echoes of participants: -"In my regular approach to migrants, I improved some of my knowledge and I especially appreciated the extraordinary testimony of Céline on current issues" -"She gives us the opportunity of seeing things in a different perspective with new eyes, by the heart and the reason, to properly reconsider the situation so as not to remain within the emotion". -"What most appealed to me, says another participant, It's to remain vigilant in maintaining the respect of the person and the respect of the laws in force equally. But to what extent?"

To Céline, from all of us, a very fraternal thanks!              It is with great emotion that we learned at the very end of the day that Céline knew Marie-Louise Thépaut!

Sister Marie-Thérèse Héliès FSE - Published November 21, 2018

Below: - The link on YouTube For Michel berger's song   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC9Y8U-31KE



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Justice & Solidarité Justice, Non-violence, intégrité de la création

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

La question migratoire aujourd’hui…


Le samedi 17 novembre 2018, s’est déroulée à Saint-Brieuc, France, la journée annuelle organisée par le groupe " Justice, non-violence, intégrité de la création " de la Province France-Belgique-Hollande, consacrée à la question migratoire aujourd’hui : Comprendre, en revenant sur un peu d’histoire, en confrontant les textes officiels aux faits, en prenant la mesure des initiatives des associations… Pour agir, dans la justice et la fraternité, en prenant acte des lois et textes en vigueur, en faisant " un pas de côté ", pour faire bouger les mentalités, les dispositions législatives ?… pour chercher où est la justice et la justesse d’une initiative voire d’une démarche audacieuse à risquer.        Malgré les blocages routiers décidés ce jour-là, 41 personnes étaient présentes sur les 46 inscrites.

" Où qu’ils aillent, ils sont tristes à la fête. Où qu’ils aillent… ils sont seuls dans leur tête… Je veux chanter pour ceux qui sont loin de chez eux, et qui ont dans leurs yeux quelque chose qui fait mal, qui fait mal. " Cette chanson de Michel Berger pour les Migrants de Calais ouvrait la journée ; elle est encore en nous… Nous avions une légère connaissance de l’intervenante, Madame Céline Dumont, enseignante chercheure en Linguistique, en retraite, membre de la Cimade et bénévole dans beaucoup d’activités auprès des migrants ; avant la journée, plusieurs participantes s’étaient empressées de relire, dans "La Colombe" (revue de la Congrégation -2018, n° 52), son témoignage  : " 20 ans avec les migrants. Une naissance qui marque pour toujours ".

Ce samedi, nous avions la chance de la voir, de l’entendre, de recevoir en direct son témoignage de femme engagée, donné avec clarté et simplicité, avec désintérêt et humilité ; nous étions sensibles à sa manière de nous conter ses expériences de situations inédites qu’elle prend en compte à tout moment ! En linguiste, de manière concrète et pédagogique, elle dénonçait la confusion qu’engendrent les mots souvent piégés ou mal compris, telles les notions de : Migrants (émigrés/immigrés), Asile (droit d’ ; demandeur d’) Réfugiés, Etrangers, "Sans papiers"… Avec justesse et clarté, sur la base de sa très riche expérience, apparaît son souci de bien comprendre toute situation avant d’agir, de trouver des issues aux questions embrouillées qui se posent. Par des liens vidéo, elle nous a fait entendre d’autres voix qui clarifiaient au besoin son enseignement et un témoignage qui a forcé notre admiration. Tout au long de la journée, nous avons ressenti, grâce à sa compétence, l’urgence de nous mettre au clair avec la complexité des situations où sont plongés les migrants avant de trouver avec eux et pour eux, des solutions ajustées.

Echos de participantes : - " Dans ma régulière approche des migrants, renouvellement de quelques connaissances et surtout témoignage extraordinaire de Céline sur les questions actuelles " - " Elle donne occasion de regarder les choses avec justesse, par le cœur et la raison, mais de bien peser la situation pour ne pas en rester à l’émotion ". - " Ce qui m’a le plus interpellée, dit une autre participante, c’est de veiller à maintenir autant le respect de la personne que le respect des lois en vigueur. Mais jusqu’où ? " 

A Céline, par nous toutes, un très fraternel merci !               Avec émotion, nous avons appris, en toute fin de journée, que Céline connaissait Marie-Louise Thépaut !...

Marie-Thérèse Héliès, FSE. Publié le 20 novembre 2018

Ci-après :

- le lien  Chanson pour les migrants de Calais.... - YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC9Y8U-31KE

- quelques-uns les liens vidéos sélectionnés par Céline :

IMMIGRATION : halte aux IDÉES REÇUES - Hélène Thiollet  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-g_B6kiZzk

Réfugiés, migrants : emploie-t-on les bons mots ? Hélène Thiollet    http://www.europe1.fr/societe/refugies-migrants-emploie-t-on-les-bons-mots-2672881

Hélène Thiollet - Un monde sans frontières ? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MuFZcMYNBMs

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup