Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

In the church, ”become all things to all people”


In the church, ”become all things to all people” (1 cor.9:19-24). This reference summarizes my experience as a teacher of Catholic Social teaching CST (0ctober 2018- February 2019), Ibadan -Nigeria-,  to a group of 102 novices from 15 different male and female congregations who gathered every Tuesday at the Dominican University for their inter-novitiate school.

Catholic Social Teaching also known as Catholic Social Doctrine is a body of teachings on economic, political, social and cultural issues developed by the Catholic Church. It was one of the major courses that novices cannot finish their without being taught. The aim of the course is to expose our young women and men who desire to follow Jesus in a more radical way to the reality, of the Church in the Modern WORLD. The church continues to act as guardian of universal truth. And this truth is obvious in all the papal Encyclicals from Rerum Novarum till date. Some of the Major principles that emanated from my teaching were the following… Dignity of the Human Person, Respect for common good, Principle of Subsidiarity and Solidarity, the issue of social justice, proper attitude towards our environment, call to family, community and participation, dignity of work and the rights of workers, solidarity and preferential option for the poor and vulnerable.

The dignity of the human person is the most important principles because it is from our dignity as human persons that all other rights and responsibilities flow. Human rights flow from the respect of human dignity. Each person has a right to those things required for human decency starting with food, shelter, clothing, employment, health care, and education. Also includes freedom of speech, religion, association, migration, and participation in full society. The economy must serve people, not the other way round. The moral test of a society is how it treats its most vulnerable members. We are one human family whatever our national, racial, ethnic, economic, and ideological differences. We are our brothers and sisters keepers, wherever they may be. At the core of CST is the pursuit of justice and peace. Our love for all our sisters and brothers demands that we promote peace in a world surrounded by violence and conflict.

The novices also participated by listening, asking question and presenting papers on different papal encyclicals. At the end of 5 months course, we are empowered to be more responsible in creating a just world, religious tolerance and violence free society.

To be an authentic religious in AFRICA today demands social consciousness.

Happiness OHANUMA, DHS. Published February 11, 2019.

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

En Eglise, “se faire tout à tous”.


En Eglise, “se faire tout à tous” (cf 1 Cor 19-24). Cette référence résume mon expérience de professeur en enseignement social catholique, d’octobre 2018 à février 2019, à Ibadan -Nigéria-, à un groupe de 102 novices, hommes et femmes de 15 congrégations différentes qui se réunissaient tous les mardis à l'Université Dominicaine dans le cadre de l’inter noviciat.

La doctrine sociale de l’Eglise catholique est un ensemble d'enseignements sur les questions économiques, politiques, sociales et culturelles. C'est un des cours majeurs que les novices sont obligés de suivre pour finir leur formation. L'objectif de ce cours est d'exposer, aux jeunes femmes et hommes qui désirent suivre Jésus d'une manière plus radicale, la réalité de l'Eglise dans le monde moderne. L'Église continue d’agir en tant que garante de la vérité universelle ; et cette vérité est évidente dans toutes les encycliques papales, de ‘Rerum Novarum’ jusqu'à ce jour. Quelques-uns des principes primordiaux émanant de mes enseignements étaient les suivants : dignité des personnes, respect du bien commun, principe de subsidiarité et de solidarité, problèmes de justice sociale, attitude appropriée à notre environnement, appel à la famille, à la communauté, à la participation, dignité du travail et droits des travailleurs, solidarité et option préférentielle pour les pauvres et les plus vulnérables.

La dignité humaine est le principe le plus important car d’elle découle tous les autres droits de l’homme. Chaque personne a droit à tout ce qui est nécessaire pour vivre décemment : nourriture, logement, vêtements, emploi, soins de santé et éducation. Ceci inclut également liberté d'expression, religion, droit d’appartenir à une association, droit de migration et pleine participation à la vie sociale. L'économie se doit de servir les gens et non l'inverse. Le test moral d'une société est la manière dont elle traite ses membres les plus vulnérables. Nous sommes une famille humaine, avec nos différences idéologiques, nationales, raciales, ethniques et économiques. Nous sommes, où que nous soyons, les gardiens de nos frères et sœurs. La poursuite de la justice et de la paix est au cœur de la doctrine sociale de l’Eglise. L'amour que nous portons à tous nos frères et sœurs exige que nous diffusions la paix dans un monde envahi par la violence et les conflits.

Les novices ont participé en écoutant, en posant des questions et en présentant des devoirs sur les différentes encycliques papales. À la fin des cinq mois de cours, nous avons en main toutes les clés pour être plus responsables, pour travailler à créer un monde juste et équitable, une société sans violence prônant la tolérance religieuse.

Être un authentique religieux aujourd'hui en Afrique exige d'avoir une conscience sociale.

Happiness Ohanuma, FSE. Publié le 11 février 2019.

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup