Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

In Retirement Home: A Great National Debate!


In France, at the initiative of the President, the government has launched, from January to April 2019, a great national debate on key issues... and mayors opened their city hall to ensure that the citizens can express their expectations. On Saturday, March 9th, the Saint Brieuc’s Retirement Home of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit opened its doors at the initiative of the "Vulnerability and Society Circle" and the Association of Nursing Home Directors with which Mr Couratin Director of this House is involved. Was particularly invited Mr Bruno Joncour, deputy of the 1st constituency of the Côtes d'Armor. Some 80 people participated: residents, the nursing home staff, members of the Board of Directors, residents’ family members, volunteers and... Marin, the handi'dog!

Five topics were selected for this debate and presented by the residents themselves revealing many aspects of their life in this house, sometimes situating them in a broader reality: - Restoring the place of the elderly in society – Review the terms used which may be reductionist such as the term "EHPAD" (Housing for dependent elderly people) – Develop and ensure access to the socio-cultural way of life of the city – Increase the number of professionals and provide adapted training to this environment – Promote autonomy and accountability for the elderly – To ensure that each person finds the means to live and age with dignity.

Personal testimonies concretely expressed either the benefits of being in a retirement home, or the sadness and disadvantages, such as: the thousand services given between residents such as reading to the visually impaired, a smile, reminders for activities, time... (Jeannine), the freedom to come and go, to shop, but also the disappointment of being there without being recognized in your prior history, to all this can be added "Once my retirement pension paid, I have nothing left for my hobbies and personal needs..." (Alexine) and concerns regarding the lack of caregivers (Marie-Armelle with Marguerite Marie). When talking about the reductionist terms, a recent resident explained that for her the term  "EHPAD" sounds like "Place of death"! It was a true debate because the microphone circulated among the audience to either dispute the opinions expressed or to complete them...

Proposals emerged: that the retirement home be like a new family, be regarded as a model of society, that the term EHPAD be replaced by "Elders Residential home" or another name … that the term of "dependence" be replaced by "loss of autonomy", to ensure a real revaluation of pensions and that careers in elderly care be better paid…

In conclusion, a few words from Mr.Joncour: "This debate is useful, it is an exercise that leads to listening to one another, to share, talk to each other. The models of healthcare discussed do not only concern residences for the elderly, but everyone one us, it's everyone's responsibility, because we are all concerned in our life course. We can certainly see a few leaps forward in legislation, changes in management, but the increasing life expectancy creates a new situation that we must take responsibility for to allow elderly people to live a normal life. This Home is a living place not an End of life place, the staff is the driving force of this place of life, like everything that makes life pleasant. All that contributes to the comfort, to the quality of relations between residents, with the staff members.... including Marin, contributes to building a human community.

The elderly person continues to feel "citizen" of his city, as proof, adds humorously Mr. Joncour, "the monitoring" of the progress of the construction work in downtown Saint Brieuc mentioned here by some residents!...

We must make known the attractiveness of this beautiful job, the service to others, one of the most prestigious jobs, these vocations that do not count the minutes. Political matters which speak to my heart: that the status of the elderly becomes a national cause. The strength of a civilization is measured by its ability to give its seniors the right to live well, its "wise men and wise women".

Some echoes from the participants: "Debate which needed to be done" "Invigorating afternoon" "it was for me the opportunity to feel what is lived here" "Many things have been said and I particularly keep in mind the necessity to put a human dimension in our retirement homes."

Jeanne and Marie-Thérèse, DHS. Published the 10th of March 2019 –






Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

En Maison de retraite : Grand Débat !


En France, à l’initiative du Président de la République, le Gouvernement a engagé, de janvier à avril 2019, un Grand Débat national sur des questions essentielles…  et des maires ont ouvert leur Mairie pour que les citoyens puissent exprimer leurs attentes. Le samedi 9 mars, c’est la Maison de Retraite des Filles du Saint-Esprit, à Saint Brieuc qui a ouvert ses portes à l’initiative du "Cercle vulnérabilité et société" et de l’Association des Directeurs de Maison de retraite dont fait partie Monsieur Couratin, Directeur de cette Maison. Etait particulièrement invité Bruno Joncour, député de la 1ère circonscription des Côtes d’Armor. Quelque 80 personnes y participaient : résidents, personnel de la maison, membres du Conseil d’administration, famille de résidents, bénévoles ainsi que… Marin, l'handi’chien !

Cinq sujets ont été retenus pour ce débat et présentés par les Résidents eux-mêmes révélant de multiples aspects de leur vie dans cette Maison, les situant parfois d’une manière plus élargie : - Restaurer la place des personnes âgées dans la société, - Revoir les termes utilisés qui peuvent être réducteurs tels que "EHPAD", - Développer et garantir l’accès à la vie socio-culturelle de la Cité - Augmenter le nombre de professionnels et assurer une formation ajustée à ce milieu - Favoriser l’autonomie et la prise de responsabilité des personnes âgées, - Que chacun ait les moyens de vivre et de vieillir dignement.

Des témoignages personnels ont exprimé, de manière concrète, soit les bienfaits d’être en Maison de Retraite, soit les peines et les désavantages, tels : les mille services donnés entre résidents comme la lecture aux malvoyants, un sourire, rappel des activités, de l’heure… (Jeannine), la liberté d’aller et venir, de faire ses courses, mais aussi la déception d’être là sans être reconnue dans son histoire antérieure ; à cela s’ajoute " Une fois ma pension payée, il ne me reste plus rien pour mes loisirs et besoins personnels…  " (Alexine), constat du manque de personnels soignants, (Marie-Armelle avec Marguerite Marie). Concernant les termes réducteurs, une résidente récemment arrivée a fait entendre que pour elle le terme "EHPAD" évoque "mouroir" ! Vrai débat car le micro circulait dans l’assistance soit pour contester les points de vue exprimés, soit pour les compléter…

Des propositions ont émergé : que la maison de Retraite soit comme une nouvelle famille, comme un lieu-modèle de société, que le terme EHPAD soit remplacé par "Résidence d’accueil de personnes âgées" ou autre nom…, que soit utilisé le terme "perte d’autonomie" au lieu de "dépendance", qu’il y ait une réelle valorisation des retraites et que les métiers d’aide aux personnes âgées soient mieux payés…

En conclusion, la parole de Monsieur Joncour : " Ce Débat est utile, c’est un exercice qui porte à s’écouter, à échanger, à se parler. La santé dont il est question, ne concerne pas seulement les résidences d’accueil de personnes âgées mais tout un chacun, c’est l’affaire de tous, car tous nous sommes concernés dans notre parcours de vie. Certes on peut constater quelques avancées dans les lois, des évolutions en termes de gestion, mais l’allongement de la durée de la vie crée une situation nouvelle à prendre en charge pour que les personnes âgées aient une vie normale. Cette Maison est un lieu de vie et non d’attente ; le personnel est moteur de ce lieu de vie, comme tout ce qui rend la vie agréable. Tout ce qui concourt au confort, à la qualité des relations entre résidents, avec les membres du personnel… -y compris Marin-, contribue à construire une communauté humaine.

La personne âgée continue à se sentir " citoyen " de sa cité -pour preuve, ajoute avec humour Monsieur Joncour, "la surveillance" des travaux dans la ville de Saint-Brieuc évoquée ici par quelques résidentes- !...

Il faut faire connaître l’attractivité de ce beau métier, le service des autres, un des métiers des plus hauts, de ces vocations qui ne comptent pas les minutes. Ce qui relève de la politique et me tient à cœur : que le statut des personnes âgées devienne cause nationale. La force d’une civilisation se mesure à sa capacité de faire bien vivre ses aînés, ses 'Sages' ".

Quelques échos de participants : " Débat qui était à faire " " Après-midi tonique " " C’était pour moi l’occasion de sentir ce qui s’y vit " " Beaucoup de choses ont été dites et je retiens plus particulièrement la nécessité de mettre de l’humain dans nos maisons de retraite ".

Jeanne et Marie-Thérèse, FSE. Publié le 10 mars 2019.

Ci-joint, avec son accord, la Synthèse réalisée par Monsieur COURATIN, Directeur de la Maison de retraite, et déposée par lui sur le Site du Grand débat national : debatsynthese.pdf Lien externe

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup