Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

Gathering between Christians and Muslims


A powerful moment, according to the spirit of Tibhirine, was lived by 90 people on March 8th, 9th and 10th, 2019, at the Ile Blanche -the Reception House in Locquirec, Brittany, France "a preferred site for spiritual renewal, healing and wellness"-.  Here are some reactions shared among all the numerous messages received: "Wonderful moment of encounters, friendships and humor, at an intensity that I did not expect !..." "I am carried away by the grace of this weekend!" "All these various avenues of reflexion which will help to build a path of peace with the message of Tibhirine will be extremely precious in our daily lives."

Planned for quite some time, on a suggestion of Father Jean-François Petit, Assumptionist, who came to animate, in our house, deepening our considerations on the message of the monks of Tibhirine, this was first a symposium project to enable us to pursue the initiated reflexion: How to live the spirit of Tibhirine today? And from the outset, we have risked invitation to think about this project with engaged people in various ways in this "Christian-Muslim" dialogue, dialogue which we measure the significance in today's context. All the competent authorities: movements, various collectives eager to contribute to this spiritual and religious opening answered 'Present'! And then throughout the evening preparation, lived between Christians and Muslims, the symposium project blossomed into an "encounter", simultaneously to share experiences already underway, reacting, questioning ourselves but also to receive a strong message inviting us to go further, deeper.

We weren’t disappointed! As the encounter started, during a round table, an aim was initiated by three speakers: Father Jean-François Petit, Mgr Rault Bishop Emeritus of Laghouat-GardaÏa (Algeria) who lived very close to the monks of Tibhirine and Khaled Roumo, poet-writer of Syrian origin, so keen to make progress on a "spiritual sharing" between people of differing faiths. "We have to jointly seek a new language and find new ways of convergences to renew our practices..." declared Jean-François Petit. And everyone, in their own way, embarked on this sharing adventure.

A sharing of experiences, firstly lived in 7 forums, that caused various initiatives: the slightly crazy challenge launched 10 years ago by young people within the movement "Coexist" -youth movement whose vocation is to advocate the coexistence between people of different faiths and unbelievers-, the stimulating experience of the "Pardon of the Seven Saints", -Islamic-Christian Pilgrimage which is being held in Vieux Marché, commune of the department of Côtes-d'Armor, in the Brittany Region-, and in other towns of this same region, the training activities of the C.R.E.D. I collective (Cultures and Religions in Interreligious Dialogue) in Brest and Quimper, those of the collective E.S.P.O.I.R.S (Listening and Solidarity for an Interreligious and Spiritual Sharing and Openness) in Lannion. Space was also made for personal testimonies: an Islamic-Christian couple linked to other mixed couples in France and with the Tibhirine movement in Nantes, a couple representing the families of the monks and a couple who lived in Tibhirine for 2 years after the death of the monks. More than just testimonies, they were really engaging exchange times for all participants! In this momentum, a 'World Coffee' -an interactive method- allowing us to share on the "Five pillars of peace" which are, according to Christian de Chergé: Patience, Poverty, Presence, Prayer and Forgiveness. Moment of intense communion between all of us, each deeply committed in this sharing!

The presence of youth, throughout this weekend, allowed us to live with them a round table which left us with an ultimate breath of hope. Thank you Fady, Maiwenn, Florent, Ilham, Doulkamali, Soizic, Pierre, 7 young people, 'a symbolic number', pointed out a participant! Your spontaneous sharing of your experience, fully engaged with the movement Coexist, scouting, the collective ESPOIRS has given place to a rich intergenerational moment of exchange; sharing where all the stakeholders willingly participated in a simple way, each addressing in their own way, messages that we have not finished to meditate on. "What we experience at these hours can open a real path of reciprocity, says Bishop Rault. Tibhirine is here, and we are invited to live it in all the places where we will be... God dreams with us, and we must give a human face to the dream of God."

At the end of this new sequence, a beautiful emotion passed through the assembly, leading naturally to the Sunday Eucharist or the "spiritual walk" nourished by texts drawn from both Christian and Muslim sources, as were the every day opening times of prayer. Pleasant surprise: at the end of the celebration, all gathered in the chapel, we took communion listening to the 'poem-prayer' written on the occasion of the beatification of the monks of Tibhirine with 13 other witnesses of the faith, on December 8th, 2018, in Oran: "Hail to you, the beautiful, the magnificent… Hail to you and to your friends here below or at your side... "Thank you, Khaled, for the many 'pearls' that you have given us, in your invitation to "expand bridges, to live and carry forward a true spiritual sharing."

We wanted an encounter which pushes us to go further … The three speakers were each able to punctuate all the sequences mentioned here of words that we carry as 'gifts.'

And to leave on the land of the Ile-Blanche a beautiful mark of these unforgettable hours, we have planted the olive tree of Peace. An invitation to reread and welcome in a renewed way the message received from our Pope Francis and the Grand Imam of al-Azhar at the end of an International Congress on human fraternity held in Abou Dhabi in February 2019: "In the name of God who created all beings equal in rights, duties and dignity, and have been called to coexist as brothers among themselves, to populate the earth and to spread the values of right, of charity and peace..." Let us meet up at the foot of the olive tree. Together, it will feel good to remember it!

The DHS community of the Ile Blanche. Published on 19 March 2019



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Une rencontre entre chrétiens et musulmans


Un temps fort, selon l’esprit de Tibhirine, s’est vécu par 90 personnes les 8, 9 et 10 mars 2019, à l’Ile Blanche -Maison d’Accueil en Locquirec, Bretagne, France, "site privilégié de ressourcement"-. Quelques réactions parmi les nombreux messages reçus : " Superbe moment de rencontre, d’amitié et d’humour, d’une intensité à laquelle je ne m’attendais pas !… " " Je suis portée par la grâce de ce week-end ! "   " Toutes ces pistes de réflexion pour bâtir un chemin de paix avec le message de Tibhirine nous seront très précieuses dans notre quotidien ".

Envisagé depuis un long temps, suite à une suggestion du Père Jean-François Petit, assomptionniste, venu animer, en notre maison, des temps d’approfondissement du message des moines de Tibhirine, cela a été d’abord un projet de colloque pour poursuivre la réflexion amorcée : Comment vivre l’esprit de Tibhirine aujourd’hui ?  Et nous avons, d’emblée, risqué des invitations pour penser ce projet avec des personnes engagées, à des titres divers, dans ce dialogue "chrétiens-musulmans", dialogue dont nous mesurons l’importance dans le contexte d’aujourd’hui. Toutes les instances sollicitées : mouvements, collectifs divers désireux de contribuer à cette ouverture spirituelle et religieuse ont répondu "Présentes" ! Et voici qu’au fil des soirées de préparation, vécues entre chrétiens et musulmans, le projet de colloques’est transformé en celui d’une " RENCONTRE " à la fois pour partager des expériences déjà engagées, réagir, nous questionner mais aussi recevoir un message fort invitant à aller plus loin, plus profond.

Nous n’avons pas été déçus ! Dès le début de la rencontre, au cours d’une table ronde, une visée a été engagée par 3 intervenants : le Père Jean-François Petit, Mgr Rault, évêque émérite de Laghouat-GardaÏa (Algérie) qui a vécu très proche des moines de Tibhirine, et Khaled Roumo, écrivain poète, d’origine syrienne, tellement désireux de faire avancer un "partage spirituel" entre croyants de religions différentes. " Nous avons à chercher ensemble un langage nouveau, à rechercher des convergences pour renouveler nos pratiques... ", a déclaré Jean-François Petit. Et chacun, à sa manière, s’est lancé dans cette aventure de partage.

Un partage d’expériences, vécu tout d’abord en 7 forums, a fait vibrer des initiatives diverses : le pari un peu fou lancé il y a dix ans par des Jeunes au sein du mouvement "Coexister" - mouvement de jeunes dont la vocation est de militer pour le vivre ensemble entre les croyants de toutes confessions et les non-croyants- , l’expérience stimulante du "Pardon des sept saints" -pèlerinage islamo-chrétien, à Vieux Marché, commune du département des Côtes-d'Armor, dans la Région Bretagne- et, dans d’autres villes de cette même Région, les activités formatrices du collectif C.R.E.D.I. (Cultures et Religions En Dialogue Interreligieux) à Brest et Quimper, celles du collectif E.S.P.O.I.R.S. (Ecoute et Solidarité pour un Partage et une Ouverture Inter-Religieuse et Spirituelle) à Lannion. Place a été faite aussi à des témoignages plus personnels : un couple islamo-chrétien lié à d’autres couples mixtes au niveau de la France et avec le mouvement Tibhirine à Nantes, un couple représentant les familles des moines ainsi qu’un couple ayant vécu à Tibhirine pendant 2 ans après la mort des moines. Plus que de simples témoignages, temps d’échange vraiment engageants pour tous les participants ! Sur cette lancée un 'World café' -méthode interactive- a permis d’échanger sur les " cinq piliers de la Paix " que sont, d’après Christian de Chergé : Patience, Pauvreté, Présence, Prière et Pardon. Moment d’intense communion entre nous tous, chacun s’engageant profondément dans ce partage !

La présence de Jeunes, tout au long de ce week-end, a permis de vivre avec eux une table ronde qui nous a laissé une forte bouffée d’espérance. Merci Fady, Maïwenn, Florent, Ilham, Doulkamali, Soizig, Pierre, 7 Jeunes, "chiffre symbolique", a fait remarquer une participante ! Votre partage d’expérience si spontané, si engagé vécu dans le mouvement Coexister, le scoutisme, le collectif ESPOIRS a donné lieu à un moment d’échange intergénérationnel d’une grande densité ; partage auquel les intervenants ont participé en toute simplicité, nous adressant, chacun à leur manière, des messages que nous n’avons pas fini de méditer. Ce que nous vivons en ces heures peut ouvrir un vrai chemin de réciprocité, dit Mgr Rault. Tibhirine c’est ici, et nous sommes invités à en vivre dans ces lieux que nous allons retrouver… Dieu rêve avec nous et nous devons donner visage à ce rêve de Dieu. "

A la fin de cette nouvelle séquence, une belle émotion traversait l’assemblée, la conduisant comme tout naturellement vers l’Eucharistie dominicale ou la " balade spirituelle " nourrie de textes puisés aux sources tant chrétiennes que musulmanes, comme l’ont été les temps de prière d’ouverture de chaque journée. Heureuse surprise : pour conclure la célébration dominicale, tous réunis dans la chapelle, nous avons communié au 'poème-prière' écrit et lu par Khaled Roumo, poème écrit à l’occasion de la béatification des moines de Tibhirine avec 13 autres témoins de la Foi, le 8 décembre 2018 à Oran : " Salut à Toi, le Beau, le Magnifique… Salut à Toi et à tes amis Ici-bas ou à tes côtés... " Merci Khaled pour les nombreuses 'perles' que vous nous avez offertes, dont votre invitation à " agrandir les ponts, à vivre et faire avancer un vrai partage spirituel ".

Nous souhaitions une rencontre qui nous pousse plus loin… Chacun des 3 intervenants a su ponctuer toutes les séquences évoquées ici de paroles que nous emportons comme des " cadeaux ".   

Et pour laisser en terre de l’Ile Blanche une belle trace de ces heures inoubliables, nous avons planté l’olivier de la Paix. Une invitation à relire et accueillir de manière renouvelée le message reçu de notre Pape François et du Grand Imam d’al-Azhar au terme d’un congrès international sur la Fraternité humaine à Abou Dhabi, en février 2019 : " Au nom de Dieu qui a créé tous les êtres égaux en droits, en devoirs et en dignité, et les a appelés à coexister comme des frères entre eux, pour peupler la terre et y répandre les valeurs du bien, de la charité et de la paix… " donnons-nous rendez-vous au pied de l’olivier. Ensemble, il nous sera bon de nous en souvenir !

La communauté des FSE de l’Ile Blanche. Publié le 19 mars 2019

                                                        



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup