Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

International Assembly of the Superior General


What touched me the most in this Assembl in Rome, May 6-10, 2019? :

. The Assembly itself: 850 Superior generals, in all sorts of habits, coming from the whole world. All together in the same huge room, by tables of 10, and by languages. Everything was translated into 11 languages, among which were : arab, chinese, korean, japanese etc. Breaks and lunches allowed us to talk with other Superiors   from other languages. Everay day, we prayed in different languages and styles. A strong and beautiful experience of Pentecost!

. The theme of the Assembly: Sowers of prophetic hope. After hearing 5 very interesting talks (1), a few sometimes very moving testimonies, and after exchanging among ourselves, together, we committed to continue to work in our Congregations for: the defense of women, the safeguarding of our planet (according to Laudato Si); the denunciation of all kinds of abuse (sexual, power, of conscience); the intercultural relationships; and the interfaith dialogue.

.The audience with Pope Francis. An hour of simple happiness. He put aside the writen talk he had prepared and prefered to dialogue with us. Right away, seeing the variety of habits in our group, he said that it is fine like that and that "it is up to each Congregation to discern which habit (civil or religious) is the most appropriate, THE criterion is the mission. But no dress is better than another, in itself". Regarding the sexual abuse and evoking the present problems in the Church, he expressed his shame and disapproval of these problems as well as his great compassion for the victims. Then he firmly asked us never to accept to be the domestics or the servants of the priests or bishops. He insisted on the place women have to take in the Church. "The theology of woman has still to progress. The Church is woman and mother", he said again and again.

. The warm and fraternal Cardinal Braz de Aviz, in charge of the Dicastery for Consecrated Life, came and met us also. He answered questions we asked him.

. As well, the very new Ambassador of France to the Holy See asked to come and meet a group of French Superior generals. We were 8 to have lunch with her. We have been touched by her simplicity. She is a non practising catholic and she seems not to know religious life very well. She was surprised by the way we live democracy in our Congregations and also by the power of such a worlwide Assembly as ours (like UNO, she said).

. After the Assembly, one day of formation in Canon Law was offered, animated by 3 religious women, on "Power, authority and the good of the Institute".

. This time again, I went to greet the new Superior General of the Daugthers of the Holy Spirit of Mexico -picture 1-. And I had also the joy to spend time with our Sr Janet Audu, from Nigeria, who is about to finish in June her training in Rome -picture 2-.

May the Holy Spirit allow growth in all that has been sown during this Assembly!

Sr Anne-Marie Foucher, Superior General - Posted on May 18, 2019

(1) The text of these talks can be found on the Internet



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Assemblée Internationale des Supérieures générales


Ce qui m'a le plus touchée dans cette Assemblée à Rome, 6-10 mai 2019 ? :

. L'Assemblée elle-même : 850 Supérieures générales, de tout costume, venues du monde entier. Toutes réunies dans une même immense salle, par tables de 10, regroupées par langue. Chaque prise de parole était traduite en 11 langues, dont l'arabe, le chinois, le coréen, le japonais etc. Pauses et repas permettaient de parler à des Supérieures d'autres langues que la nôtre. Chaque jour, nous avons prié dans des langues et des styles différents. Forte et belle expérience de Pentecôte!

. Le thème de l'Assemblée : Semeuses d'espérance prophétique. Après avoir entendu 5 conférences très intéressantes, (1) quelques témoignages, parfois bouleversants, et après avoir échangé entre nous, ensemble, nous nous sommes engagées à continuer à promouvoir dans nos Congrégations: la défense de la femme, la sauvegarde de la planète (selon Laudato Si) ; la dénonciation de toutes formes d'abus (sexuels, de pouvoir, de conscience; les relations interculturelles ; et le dialogue interreligieux.

. L'audience avec le Pape François. Un moment de bonheur simple. Il a mis de côté le discours qu'il avait préparé et préféré entrer en dialogue avec nous. D'emblée, devant la variété vestimentaire de notre groupe, il nous a dit que c'était très bien ainsi et que "c'est à chaque Congrégation de discerner quelle tenue (civile ou costume religieux) est la plus appropriée. Le critère, c'est la mission. Mais il n'y a pas, en soi, de tenue meilleure que les autres". A propos des abus sexuels, évoquant les problèmes actuels dans l'Eglise, il a dit la honte et la réprobation qu'ils suscitent et sa grande compassion pour les victimes. Puis il nous a demandé avec fermeté de ne jamais accepter d'être les domestiques ou les servantes des prêtres. Il a insisté sur la place que les femmes doivent prendre dans l'Eglise. " La théologie de la femme doit encore progresser. L'Eglise est femme et mère ", nous a-t-il dit et redit.

. Le chaleureux et fraternel Cardinal Braz de Aviz, responsable du Dicastère pour la Vie consacrée, est venu nous rencontrer, lui aussi. Il a répondu aux questions que nous lui avons posées.

. De même, la toute nouvelle Ambassadrice de France près du Saint-Siège a demandé à rencontrer un groupe de Supérieures générales françaises. Nous étions 8 à partager un repas avec elle. Nous avons été touchées par sa simplicité. Catholique non pratiquante, elle semble ne pas trop connaître la vie religieuse. Elle a été étonnée de la pratique de la démocratie dans nos Congrégations et de la force qu'une Assemblée mondiale comme la nôtre, peut représenter (comme l'ONU a-t-elle dit).

. L'Assemblée a été suivie d'une journée de formation en Droit Canonique animée par 3 religieuses, sur "le pouvoir, l'autorité et le bien de l'Institut".

. Cette fois-ci encore, je suis allée saluer la nouvelle Supérieure générale des Filles du Saint-Esprit du Mexique -photo 1-. Et j'ai eu aussi la joie de passer un moment avec notre Sr Janet Audu du Nigeria -photo 2- qui terminera début juin la formation qu'elle faisait à Rome.

Que l'Esprit fasse croître tout ce qui a pu être semé au cours de cette Assemblée !

Sr Anne-Marie Foucher, supérieure générale. Publié le 18 mai 2019

(1)  Le texte de ces conférences est sur Internet

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup