Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

The Joy of a brief stay ...


Saturday, August 10th, 2019, we, Elisabeth and Patience, respectively from Cameroon and Nigeria, came to France for the pilgrimage to the sources, after a time of retreat, we arrived at the Trégueux community, a small town near Saint Brieuc. There live four sisters: three Marie-Thérèse and Jeanne. We have been blessed by a warm welcome and with their wish to allow us to discover various sites in the region.

Thus, on Sunday we went to the vespers at the Timadeuc Monastery, it's a very beautiful and calm place, open to all. -On that day a lot of people came for a piano and cello concert-. A booklet allowed us to enter in the prayerful psalmody melodies of the monks. The next day, we met the sisters of three neighboring communities as well as some associates, we gather around a convivial collation and learned to get to know each other …

Tuesday, in Saint Brieuc, we had a guided tour of the "Saint Yves" Diocesan House. There we learned a lot of different things : --- the history of this place which, from seminary, became the Bishop's House but also where all the diocesan services are gathered; --- under the cloister, an imposing painting on canvas of Xavier de Langlais, a Breton painter and writer, depicting the arrival of Irish migrant monks who came to evangelize Brittany in the VIth century, at the head of the procession we can see the Monk Brieuc who is crossing the channel with his monks and a few families to land at the mouth of the Gouet, at the port of the Légué. In juxtaposition another scene representing Saint-Yves, a purse open at his feet, walking with others towards Mary, in majesty holding the Child Jesus arms wide open welcoming those who come to him: Saint Hervé, blind and guided by a tamed wolf, playing the harp; Saint Guillaume to whom we owe the construction of the Cathedral of Saint Brieuc; Saint Guénolé founded the monastery of Landévennec and Saint Tugdual carrying the cathedral of Trégier jn his hands. Saint Yves (1252-1303) was a priest and a judge in Brittany, advocate of the poor and patron Saint of all the law and justice professions, he is also the co-patron of Brittany with Saint Anne. --- The Art Deco style chapel where elements of Breton culture intertwine, like the Triskell (Celtic symbol with three branches representing Water, Earth, and Fire) offering a rich representation of evangelists and apostles… --- Then, we enter into the crypt, astonishment: a painting on canvas representing the Presentation of Mary in the Temple, the cross, the tabernacle, the seats, the stained glass… We carefully listened to our guides explanations, we got closer and we contemplated! As did the 23,000 visitors who explored this Diocesan House since it opened on September 1st, 2017!

And we will not forget our outing, both of us, towards the parish church with these simple directions: "to the right, to the left, then to the right..." But for the return !!! We walked and walked and of course, we got lost, so we turned back towards the church. The time went by… worried, as were the sisters of the community who luckily decided to come looking for us! Since then, thinking about our adventure we cannot help ourselves by laughing heartily saying "Right, Left, Right...".

We just want to share with everyone the joy of this short stay in the Trégueux community, with the wish that God blesses those who received us.

Elisabeth Maï Rouskou and Patience Effiong, DHS. Posted on August 17, 2019.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Joie d’un bref séjour…


Samedi 10 août 2019, nous deux, Elisabeth et Patience, du Cameroun et du Nigéria, venues en France pour le pèlerinage aux Sources, après un temps de retraite, sommes arrivées à la communauté de Trégueux, petite ville très proche de Saint-Brieuc. Là se trouvent quatre sœurs : trois Marie-Thérèse et Jeanne. Nous sommes très heureuses de l’accueil qu’elles nous ont offert avec leur souhait de nous faire découvrir quelques lieux de la région.

Ainsi, le dimanche, nous sommes allées pour Vêpres, au monastère de Timadeuc, endroit très calme et très beau, ouvert à tous -ce jour-là beaucoup de monde pour un concert de piano et violoncelle- ; un livret nous a permis d’entrer dans la psalmodie priante des moines. Le lendemain, rencontre des sœurs de trois communautés voisines et d’Associées pour un goûter convivial et faire connaissance…

Mardi, à Saint-Brieuc, visite guidée de la Maison diocésaine "Saint-Yves". Là, nous avons appris beaucoup de choses : --- l’historique de ce lieu qui, de séminaire est devenu Maison de l’évêque où sont aussi rassemblés tous les services diocésains. --- Sous le cloître, une imposante ‘peinture sur toile’ de Xavier de Langlais, peintre et écrivain breton, présente la venue de moines Irlandais, migrants venus évangéliser la Bretagne au VIème siècle. En tête, le moine Brieuc traverse la mer avec ses moines et quelques familles pour débarquer à l’embouchure du Gouët, au port du Légué. En juxtaposition, une autre scène représente Saint Yves, une bourse ouverte à ses pieds, allant avec d’autres vers Marie en majesté, tenant l’Enfant Jésus aux bras largement ouverts pour accueillir ceux qui viennent vers lui : Saint Hervé, aveugle et guidé par un loup apprivoisé, jouant de la harpe, Saint Guillaume à qui on doit la construction de la cathédrale de Saint Brieuc, Saint Guénolé qui a fondé le monastère de Landévennec, Saint Tugdual portant dans ses mains la cathédrale de Tréguier. Saint Yves (1252-1303), prêtre et juge en Bretagne, avocat des pauvres, est le patron de toutes les professions de justice et de droit ; il est aussi co-patron de la Bretagne avec sainte Anne. --- La chapelle, de style ‘art déco’ où se mêlent des éléments de la culture bretonne (dont le Triskell, symbole celtique à trois branches représentant l'Eau, la Terre et le Feu) offre de riches présentations des évangélistes et des apôtres… --- Puis, en entrant dans la crypte, émerveillement : une ‘peinture sur toile’ de la Présentation de Marie au Temple, la croix, le tabernacle, les sièges, les vitraux… Nous écoutons les explications de nos guides, nous nous approchons pour bien voir, nous admirons comme les 23 000 visiteurs venus dans cette Maison diocésaine depuis son ouverture le 1er septembre 2017 !

Et nous n’oublierons pas notre sortie vers l’église paroissiale de Trégueux avec ces simples indications : " A droite, à gauche, à droite… " Bien pour l’aller, mais pour le retour ! ? Nous avons marché, marché… et, perdues, nous avons repris le chemin vers l’église. Le temps passait… Inquiètes, les sœurs de la communauté l’étaient aussi et sont venues à notre recherche ! Depuis, combien de fois avons-nous dit, en riant de bon cœur : " A droite, à gauche, à droite… "

Nous voulons juste partager à tout le monde la joie de ce court séjour en communauté à Trégueux, France, avec le souhait que Dieu bénisse celles qui nous ont reçues.

Elisabeth Maï Rouskou et Patience Effiong, FSE. Publié le 17 août 2019




Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup