Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

A session: “Being servants for all”


A session on Mark gospel with DHS postulants took place in Ogbomosho, Oyo State Nigeria. The postulancy stage is often regarded as a beginner stage for young women seeking to be admitted into the Congregation of Daughters of the Holy Spirit, this stage compared to the call of the first four apostles of Jesus. Jesus says to those he calls “Come and see”

The Gospel of St. Mark which was the first gospel to be written according to the canon of scripture centers on disciple and discipleship. This is why the study of Mark gospel is paramount to the postulants as they prepare for their own formation. The gospel introduces them to the life of service. It prepares them to embrace the servitude of Christ. They are helped to focus on Jesus the servant. “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and give his life as a ransom for many” (Mark 10:45). Jesus as a servant contrasts with our culture where almost everybody wants to be served and not to serve. Often time being a servant or serving people especially the poor is seen as a sign of weakness. To enter into the formation proper of becoming a DHS entails to be open to break away from the shackles of societal derogative view of a servant. The study of Mark’s gospel keeps them focus on being servants for all. Love becomes meaningful in service. 

Hence at a point we all become the Servants Prepared, the Servants Working, the Servants Rejected, the Servants Exalted. At the end of the session, the postulants were able to understand what it means to be called to be disciples not perfect disciples but disciples of Jesus who are ready to learn and in turn render humble services to God and humanity.

The call to discipleship is a call to follow the humble footsteps of Marie Balavenne and Rene Burel.

Ohanuma, Lucy Happiness, DHS - Teacher. Posted on August 20, 2019.

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Session : “Etre au service de tous”


Une session sur l'Evangile de Marc pour les postulantes FSE a eu lieu à Ogbomosho dans l'Etat d'Oyo au Nigéria. L'étape du postulat est comme une étape pour les aspirantes qui souhaitent entrer dans la Congrégation des Filles du Saint Esprit, étape comparée à l'appel des quatre premiers Apôtres de Jésus. A ceux qu'il appelle, Jésus dit : “ Viens et vois ”.

L'Evangile de Marc, premier Evangile à être écrit, est centré sur les disciples et l'apostolat. C'est la raison pour laquelle l'étude de cet Evangile est primordiale pour ces jeunes filles postulantes. L'Evangile leur permet de rentrer dans ce qu'est la vie de service. Il les prépare à embrasser la manière de servir du Christ, Jésus “serviteur”, car “ Le Fils de L'homme est venu, non pour être servi, mais pour servir et donner sa vie comme la rançon de plusieurs.” (Marc 10:45) Jésus se faisant “serviteur” contredit notre culture où presque tout le monde veut être servi et non servir. Etre serviteur ou servir les gens en particulier les plus vulnérables est souvent perçu comme un signe de faiblesse. S'engager dans la formation pour devenir FSE implique d'être ouvertes, de se libérer du regard méprisant et de la vision péjorative de “Serviteur” imposée par la société. L'étude de l'Evangile de Marc permet de fixer l’attention sur “être au service de tous” où l'amour prend tout son sens.

Ainsi nous devenons tous, à un certain moment, des serviteurs disponibles… A la fin de la session, les postulantes étaient toutes capables de comprendre ce que signifie être appelées à être disciples, non pas disciples parfaits mais disciples de Jésus prêtes à apprendre et à rendre à leur tour d’humbles services à Dieu et à l'humanité.

L'appel à la vie de disciples est un appel à suivre les pas pleins d’humilité de Marie Balavenne et de Renée Burel.

Ohanuma, Lucy Happiness, FSE - Professeur. Publié le 20 août 2019.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup