Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

My visit to the USA (August 6th-18th, 2019)


A recent article on the Site evoked the nice surprise that the US Sisters had for me, on the East Coast, on August 10th, by celebrating, with the DHS Spiritual Family, my 50 years of religious life. The visit I have just paid to them was short, however intense. It has allowed me to meet the Sisters of the Provincial House of Putnam who are now dispersed into several Retirement Homes or Nursing Homes in diverse places in the area. All unanimously express their huge gratitude for the way in which Sr Gertrude Lanouette and her team have listened to each of them and continue to do so. Also they all say how happy they are in their new place of life and of mission, with and among lay people and women religious from other Congregations.

This visit also gave me the opportunity to see, at Putnam, the new administrative building of the Province. The Sisters could not find a better place. This new administrative centre, functional and spacious, on one floor, allows the Sisters and the DHS Spiritual Family to have a place for DHS meetings. There, everybody feels at home.

From August 13th to 16th, my visit was prolonged by another very rich experience. On Sr Gertrude Lanouette's invitation, with her and her Councillors: Srs Jacqueline Robillard and Marian St Marie, I participated in the Annual LCWR Assembly. This year, the Assembly took place in a superb hotel, at Scottsdale, in a suburb of Phoenix, very far from Putnam, on the US West Coast, in the burning desert of Arizona. We were more than 700 women religious participants. With the theme: "Imagining Leadership in a Global Community", we were stimulated to imagine a form of government in our Congregations well engaged with the world, "our Common Home", as Pope Francis says in " Laudato Si ". Sr Pat Murray, former Executive Secretary of the UISG, Rome, and Sr Sharlet Wagner, LCWR President, each gave a talk on the theme, about which we exchanged at tables of 8 -10 Sisters. In a panel, three speakers, one black American Sister, one Hispanic and one white American underlined, from their daily struggles, how "racism, immigration and climate changes" are interacting. Finally, a pedagogical practice helped us to be aware of assumptions we have in our way of leadership, to let go of certain ones and to welcome other new ones. As in every Assembly, elections took place: a new President and members of the LCWR national Board, and Orientations were chosen, during which a LCWR Outstanding Leadership Award was given to Sr Norma Pimentel, MJ, for her commitment to migrants and refugees. During the whole Assembly, we had a prayerful, rather sober, liturgy with beautiful songs and music which delighted me.

I liked the beauty of our place, the warm and relaxed climate of the Assembly, the enthusiasm and the passion of many participants, the ease with which you could talk with anybody and deeply share on the, different but also so similar, situations we live in our Congregations… Also the sense of blessing that the American sisters have touched me.

Some words of the President, Sr Sharlet Wagner, found a deep echo in me and I would like to share them. I find them important as we prepare our Chapters and the General Chapter. I write them in my own words, as I have understood them (we had no written text):

1. Today, in the world and in our different societies, we live deep, often violent, disruptions. We, religious women, can certainly not prevent nor even stop the storm. But, in the middle of this storm, we can stand up together and say something of the Gospel, and this, in numerous different ways.

2. Our world and the Gospel call us to grow in interculturality. Any group which talks about its members, (who are different by the generations, cultures, races, religions…) in terms of 'them" and "us" will never be intercultural. We absolutely have to learn talking of "we". That is true in the society, the Church, our Congregation, in our community…

Thank you to Sr Gertrude and her Councillors for having enabled me to live, in these few days, such strong and enriching experiences. Trust! For sure, the Spirit is at work…

Sr Anne-Marie Foucher, DHS Superior General. Posted on August 20, 2019.

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Ma visite aux USA (6-18 août 2019)


Un article récent du Site évoquait la belle surprise que les Sœurs des USA m'ont réservée, sur la Côte Est, le 10 août dernier, en célébrant, avec la Famille spirituelle FSE, mes 50 ans de vie religieuse. La visite que je viens de leur rendre a été brève mais intense. Elle m'a permis de rencontrer les Sœurs de la Maison Provinciale de Putnam qui sont maintenant réparties en plusieurs maisons de retraite ou Ehpads en divers lieux de la région. Toutes sont unanimes à exprimer leur immense reconnaissance pour la manière dont Sr Gertrude Lanouette et ses collaboratrices ont été à l'écoute de chacune et continuent à l'être. Toutes disent aussi combien elles sont heureuses dans leur nouveau lieu de vie et de mission, avec et au milieu de laïcs et religieuses d'autres Congrégations.

Cette visite m'a aussi donné l'occasion de découvrir, à Putnam, les nouveaux bureaux administratifs de la Province. Les Sœurs ne pouvaient pas trouver mieux. Ce nouveau centre administratif, fonctionnel et spacieux, de plain-pied, permet aux Sœurs et à la Famille FSE d'avoir un lieu de rencontre FSE. Chacun/e s'y sent chez soi.

Du 13 au 16 août, ma visite s'est prolongée par une autre très belle expérience. A l'invitation de Sr Gertrude Lanouette, avec elle et ses Conseillères, Srs Jacquie Robilliard et Marian Ste Marie, j'ai participé à l'Assemblée Annuelle de LCWR (Conférence des Religieuses des USA). Cette année, l'Assemblée se tenait dans un superbe hôtel à Scottsdale, dans la banlieue de Phoenix, très loin de Putnam, à l'Ouest des USA, dans le désert brûlant de l'Arizona. Nous étions plus de 700 participantes. Le thème : "Imagining Leadership in a Global Community" nous stimulait à imaginer une forme de gouvernement de nos Congrégations bien en prise avec le monde, notre " Maison commune ", comme dit le Pape François dans " Laudato Si ". Sr Pat Murray, ancienne Secrétaire générale de l'UISG à Rome et Sr Sharlet Wagner, Présidente de LCWR, nous ont donné chacune une conférence sur le thème, sur lesquelles nous avons échangé à des tables de 8 à 10 Sœurs. Au cours d'une table ronde, trois intervenantes, une noire américaine, une hispanique et une blanche américaine ont souligné, à partir de leur combat journalier, l'interaction qui existe entre "racisme, immigration et changement climatique". Enfin, un exercice pédagogique nous a aidées à prendre conscience des présupposés qui sous-tendent notre manière de gouverner, à en abandonner certains et en accueillir d'autres, nouveaux. Comme lors de toute Assemblée, des élections ont eu lieu : nouvelle présidente et membres du Bureau de LCWR, et des Orientations ont été choisies. Le tout s'est terminé par un banquet, au cours duquel une récompense a été décernée à une Sœur, Norma Pimentel, pour son engagement près des migrants et des réfugiés. Toute l'Assemblée a été soutenue par une belle liturgie assez sobre, dont les chants et la musique m'ont enchantée.

J'ai aimé la beauté du lieu, le climat très fraternel et relax de l'Assemblée, l'enthousiasme et la passion de nombreuses participantes, l'extrême facilité avec laquelle vous pouviez adresser la parole à n'importe qui et partager en profondeur sur les situations, différentes mais tellement ressemblantes aussi, que nous vivons dans nos Congrégations… J'ai été touchée également par le sens de la bénédiction qu'ont les Sœurs américaines.

Des paroles de la présidente, Sr Sharlet Wagner, ont trouvé un profond écho en moi et je voudrais vous les partager. Je trouve qu'elles sont importantes dans la préparation de nos Chapitres et du Chapitre général. Je les redonne avec mes propres mots, telles que je les ai comprises (nous n'avons pas eu le texte écrit) :

1. Aujourd'hui, dans le monde et dans nos différentes sociétés, nous vivons des bouleversements profonds, souvent violents. Nous, religieuses, ne pouvons certainement pas empêcher la tempête ni même l'arrêter. Mais, au cœur de cette tempête, nous pouvons nous lever ensemble et dire quelque chose de l'Evangile, et cela de multiples manières.

2. Notre monde et l'Evangile nous appellent à grandir dans l'interculturalité. Or, un groupe qui parle de ses membres, (divers par la génération, la culture, la race, la religion…) en termes de "elles/eux" et "nous" ne sera jamais interculturel. Nous devons absolument apprendre à parler en "nous". Je me dis que c'est vrai dans la société, dans l'Eglise, dans nos Congrégations, dans notre communauté…

Merci à Sr Gertrude, ses conseillères, de m'avoir permis de vivre, en ces quelques jours, des expériences si fortes et si enrichissantes. Confiance ! C'est sûr, l'Esprit est à l'œuvre…

Sr Anne-Marie Foucher, supérieure générale FSE. Publié le 20 août 2019.

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup