Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

Sr. Rose Mary Iannucci


Sr. Rose Mary Iannucci, 102, a member of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit, died on Sunday September 29, 2019 at St Joseph Living Center in Windham, CT.

Born on June 6, 1917 in Waterbury, CT, the daughter of the late Giovanni (John) and Antoinette Conte Iannucci, Sr. Rose Mary entered religious life in 1938 and made her profession at the Motherhouse in St. Brieuc, France on March 27, 1940. She was then known as Sr. Jean Antoine.

She remained in France for her first community in Le Légué. Once the United States declared war on Germany, she and 23 other Daughters of the Holy Spirit were arrested. Sr. Rose Mary was held in the detention camp at Vittel for more than two years. She and the other American Sisters taught the children in the camp which had been originally created to intern nationals of enemy and neutral countries whom Germany wanted to exchange for their own nationals held in enemy camps. The 22 DHS in Vittel were released as exchange prisoners in 1944. Sr. Rose Mary is the last surviving member of that group.

Once back in the U. S., she taught in elementary schools in Ct, MA and VT while obtaining her B.A. and M.A. in education. In 1975 she moved to West Sacramento, CA for 22 years where she ministered as teacher before earning her certificate in pastoral care from the Medical /center in San Francisco in 1980. She then ministered as a pastoral associate at Our Lady of Grace Parish in West Sacramento. She was instrumental in bringing the Associate Program there.

Upon retirement in 1998, she resided at St. Clare Convent in Newport, RI before moving to the Provincial House in Putnam, CT in 2007. She was one of the first Sisters to begin the new community at St. Joseph Living Center in Windham, CT in 2016.

She is survived by the Daughters of the Holy Spirit spiritual family – her sisters in community, the Consecrated Seculars and the Associates as well as several nieces and nephews. She is predeceased by her brothers and sisters: Clementina Rossi, Susan DiLeo, Martha DiPietri Hadsock, Philip Iannucci, Michelina Martino, Philomena Balduc Lata, Eva Dileo and John Iannucci.

The ceremony took place on Wednesday October 2, 2019 from 9:30 – 11:00 AM at St Joseph Church, 99 Jackson Street, Willimantic, CT with a prayer service at 10:00 AM. A mass was celebrated at 11:00 AM followed by burial in St. Mary Cemetery in Putnam at 2:30 PM.

In lieu of flowers donations may be made to DHS Retirement Fund, P. O. Box 497, Putnam, CT 06260. The Gilman Funeral Home, 104 Church St., Putnam, CT is in charge of arrangements.

Sister Janet Lewis, Provincial SecretaryPosted on 3 Oct. 2019.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Sr. Rose Mary Iannucci


Soeur Rose Mary Iannucci, 102 ans, Fille du Saint Esprit, est décédée dimanche 29 septembre 2019 à l'EPHAD (maison de retraite) de Windham au Connecticut, USA.

Née le 6 juin 1917 à Waterbury, Etat du Connecticut, fille de Giovanni (John) et d'Antoinette Conte Iannucci, Soeur Rose Mary a fait Profession religieuse en France, à la Maison-Mère de Saint Brieuc, le 27 mars 1940 sous le nom de Soeur Jean Antoine.

Restée en France, sa première communauté a été au Légué. Quand les Etats-Unis ont déclaré la guerre à l'Allemagne, elle et 23 autres Soeurs Filles du Saint Esprit ont été arrêtées. Soeur Rose Mary est détenue au camp de Vittel pendant plus de deux ans, camp créé pour interner les ressortissants de pays ennemis ou de pays neutres, ressortissants dont l'Allemagne se servait comme monnaie d'échange pour demander la libération de ses propres ressortissants détenus dans les camps ennemis. Elle,ainsi que les autres Soeurs Americaines, enseigaient les enfants du camp. Ces FSE ont été libérées en 1944 en échange de prisonniers allemands. Sr. Rose Mary est la dernière survivante de ce groupe !

De retour aux Etats-Unis, elle enseigne dans les écoles élémentaires du Connecticut, du Massachusetts et du Vermont tout en obtenant son Baccalauréat et sa maîtrise en éducation. En 1975, elle est envoyée à West Sacramento en Californie ; durant 22 ans elle enseigne et obtient, en 1980, son certificat en soins pastoraux du centre médical de San Francisco. Elle exerce ensuite la fonction d'assistante pastorale à la paroisse de “Our Lady of Grace” de West Sacramento. En Californie, elle joue un rôle déterminant en engageant la formation des Associés.

Au moment de la retraite, en 1998, elle réside au Couvent de St.Clare à Newport, dans le Rhode Island, avant de venir habiter, en 2007, à la Maison Provinciale de Putnam, dans le Connecticut. En 2016, elle est une des premières Soeurs à se rendre dans la nouvelle communauté, à l'EPHAD St.Joseph de Windham dans Connecticut.

Elle laisse dans le deuil sa famille spirituelle des Filles du Saint Esprit, ses soeurs en communauté, les consacrées séculières, les associés ainsi que plusieurs neveux et nièces. Elle est précédée dans la mort par ses frères et soeurs Clementina Rossi, Susan DiLeo, Martha DiPietri Hadsock, Philip Iannucci, Michelina Martino, Philomena Balduc Lata, Eva Dileo et John Iannucci.

La cérémonie a eu lieu le mercredi 2 octobre 2019 de 9h30 à 11h00 à l'église St.Joseph, 99 Jackson Street à Willimantic dans le Connecticut : elle s’est ouverte à 10h par un temps de prière. La messe de funérailles a eu lieu à 11h00, suivie de l'inhumation au cimetière de St. Mary de Putnam à 14h30.

Au lieu de fleurs, des dons peuvent être faits au fonds de retraite des FSE à l'adresse suivante: DHS Retirement Fund, P.O.Box 497, Putnam,CT 06260 USA.

Soeur Janet Lewis, secrétaire provinciale. Publié le 3 octobre 2019.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup