Homepage
HAPPENINGS

Français | English | Español
Identification

"The whole being of men and of all humankind"


On Sunday October 26th, in Koza, in the far north Region of Cameroon, was held a thanksgiving mass in memory of Sister Marie Colin, who passed away June 3rd, 2019 in France.

From Djinglia, a village located in the canton of Koza, at the foothills of the Mandara Mountains which is cultivated in terraces, to Koza, banners were displayed along the way on which you could read this special acknowledgement: "Manga Zhigile dadeka te pambiy" which means: "Our mother, may God welcome you in his peace." A dense crowd from all over, from the plain as well as the mountain, Lamibés (the plural form of Lamido, traditional chief), Deacons and a large number of Priests surrounded Monsignor Bruno ATEBA EDO, Bishop of the diocese of Maroua-Mokolo, the main celebrant of the ceremony. Christians, muslims, protestants, animists, without distinction on grounds of religion, social status, language or age were all present and united for the ceremony given for their Mother "Mother, Mama Marie Colin." A dozen daughters of the Holy Spirit Sisters were also present on this day in Koza for their older Sister in Congregation at the call of the parish that Sister Marie cherished such as the neighboring communities including Djingliya, which became a parish after her arrival in Koza in 1977.

Our Sister Marie Colin took care of several private Catholic schools in the area. She paid particular attention to teachers and each child was considered unique within each school. As a matter of fact Sister Marie Colin arrived in this Far North region at an unforgettable time in its history: "the school of white people" was ignored by the parents. She had to travel long ways under the sun and the rain, climb hot mountains during the dry season and slippery in the rainy months, in order to conquer the hearts to this school… About fifty children named "The children of Marie Colin" were the living proof of the work of our Sister in the field of integral education and development of "the whole being of men and of all humankind" (Encyclical 'Populorum Progreeio' by Paul VI on the topic of the development of peoples, 1967).  With heartrending testimonies and tee-shirts with the wording "Thank you Mama", they all have paid a dignified tribute to their dear Mama, from now on our mother to us all. She is going to be greatly missed, they said! However, they feel consoled by the ongoing presence of the Sisters of the Holy Spirit in Koza and are really grateful towards the Congregation and the Vice-province: they said that all the Daughters of the Holy Spirit are from now on their mothers as a replacement of their "Mama Marie"!

Monsignor, in his homily, emphasized the importance of giving thanks, to be thankful in all aspects and for everything. By repeatedly using the word "Yaowa" (thank you) borrowed from the tongue of the Mafa people, Monsignor Bruno, from beginning to end, praised Sister Marie Colin as if he knew her during her lifetime. At the heart of his homily, he gave way to "the sons and daughters of Marie Colin" for edifying testimonies. For this occasion, towards the end of the mass, a song a thanksgiving, composed in the Mafa language, entitled with the name of Sister Marie, was sung by the choir. The whole church was standing and vibrating to the rhythm of the dance steps and the song. Joy in Koza, Djingliya and all the surrounding villages!

Then the floor was given to Sister Pauline Maïsenso, Vice-Provincial of Cameroon, who in turn, in simple and touching terms, expressed words of gratitude and farewell to Sister Marie Colin. All the Daughters of the Holy Spirit present danced while singing in chorus the beautiful song composed for our Founder on the occasion of her 350 years, replacing the name of Marie Balavenne by… Marie Colin! From the captivated crowd, several joined, in the front of the altar, the circle of the sisters !

The ceremony was at the height of the love that this mountain population had for our Sister, their loving "Mother" in Christ.

Sister Christine DIDJA. Published November, 7th, 2019

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Actualité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

" Tout l’homme et tous les hommes "


Le dimanche 26 octobre a eu lieu, à Koza, Région de l’Extrême-Nord du Cameroun, une messe d’action de grâce en mémoire de sœur Marie Colin, décédée le 3 Juin 2019 en France.

De Djingliya -village situé dans le canton de Koza, au pied des Monts Mandara dont les contreforts sont cultivés en terrasses- à Koza, des banderoles arpentaient le chemin avec cette mention particulière : " Manga Zhigile dadeka te pambiy " qui signifie : " Notre maman que Dieu t’accueille dans sa paix ". Une foule venue de partout, de la plaine comme de la montagne, des lamibés (pluriel de lamido, chef traditionnel), des diacres et de nombreux prêtres entouraient Monseigneur Bruno ATEBA EDO, Evêque du Diocèse de Maroua-Mokolo, célébrant principal de la cérémonie. Chrétiens, musulmans, protestants, animistes, sans distinction de religion, de rang social, de langue ou d’âge, étaient tous ensemble au rendez-vous donné pour leur "mère, maman Marie Colin". Une dizaine de sœurs Filles du Saint-Esprit étaient également présentes ce jour à Koza pour leur grande sœur en Congrégation à l’appel de la paroisse que sœur Marie chérissait comme les communautés avoisinantes dont Djingliya, devenue paroisse après son arrivée à Koza en 1977.

Notre sœur Marie Colin s’occupait de plusieurs écoles privées catholiques dans les alentours. Elle portait une attention particulière aux enseignants et chaque enfant était considéré comme unique au sein de chaque école. En effet, sœur Marie Colin arrivait dans cette région de l’Extrême-Nord à une époque inoubliable de son histoire: "l’école du Blanc" était ignorée par les parents. Il lui a fallu parcourir des distances sous le soleil et la pluie, grimper des montagnes, chaudes en saison sèche et glissantes en saison de pluie, afin de conquérir les cœurs à cette école… Une cinquantaine d’enfants dénommés "Les enfants de Marie Colin" était la preuve vivante du travail de notre sœur dans le domaine de l’éducation intégrale et du développement de " tout l’homme et tous les hommes " (Encyclique ‘Populorum Progressio’ de Paul VI sur le développement des Peuples. 1967). Avec des témoignages poignants et des tee-shirts à la mention "Merci maman’’, ils ont dignement rendu hommage à leur chère maman désormais notre maman à nous tous. Elle leur manquera beaucoup, disaient-ils ! Cependant ils se trouvent consolés par la présence continue des sœurs Filles du Saint-Esprit à koza et sont très reconnaissants envers la congrégation et la vice-province : ils ont dit que toutes les Filles du Saint-Esprit sont désormais leur mère en remplacement de leur "maman Marie" !

Monseigneur, dans son homélie, a insisté sur le fait de rendre grâce, de dire merci en tout et pour tout. En employant à plusieurs reprise le terme "yaowa" (merci) emprunté à la langue du peuple Mafa, Monseigneur Bruno a fait l’éloge de Sœur Marie Colin comme s’il l’avait connue de son vivant, du début à la fin ! Au cœur de son homélie, il a fait place aux "fils et filles de Marie Colin" pour des témoignages édifiants. Vers la fin de la messe un chant d’action de grâce, composé en mafa pour cette circonstance avec le nom sœur Marie, a été entonné par la chorale. Toute l’Eglise était debout et vibrait au rythme des pas de danse et de la chanson. Joie à Koza, à Djingliya et dans tous les alentours !

Ensuite la parole a été donnée à sœur Pauline Maïsenso, vice-provinciale du Cameroun qui, à son tour, en des termes simples et touchants, a prononcé un mot de remerciement et d’adieu à l’intention de Sœur Marie Colin. Et toutes les Filles du Saint-Esprit présentes ont dansé en chantant en chœur le beau chant composé pour notre Fondatrice à l’occasion de ses 350 ans, en remplaçant le nom de Marie Balavenne par… Marie Colin ! De la foule captivée, plusieurs ont rejoint, devant l’autel, la ronde des sœurs !

La fête était à la hauteur de l’amour que cette population de montagne portait à notre sœur, leur affectueuse "mère" en Christ.

Sœur Christine DIDJA. Publié le 7 novembre 2019



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup