Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

Exceptional Experience


We arrived at the postulancy -the first stage of two years of discernment towards religious life- in two groups: on 19 September, the second year Nigerian and the first year Burkinabés came from their village, their luggage tied up on bicycles; they crossed the river with the help of a pirogue because of the roads that were not passable in the rainy season, but they were happy in this adventure. Two months later, in November, the second group of postulants. In total, we were ten, eight Nigerian and two Burkinabes.

At the beginning, communication between us was practically impossible, as the Nigerian women did not understand French and the Burkinabés did not speak English! Fortunately, our training manager translated everything in detail. Nevertheless, in this experience, we were inhabited by questions and fears: how to form a community with the barriers of language, culture, origin, education...

Little by little, we learned to open our hearts to welcome and live each day as it presents itself thanks to the very rich, profound formation, the sessions, courses, recollections, personal accompaniment, community and personal prayer... As time went by, the course "Art of living together" made us understand that it is difference and diversity that make community life beautiful.

This formation has opened our minds to all aspects of life. We laughed a lot with each other: at the beginning some of us were very afraid of rabbits, others learned how to look after chickens, and others learned to ride bicycles and motorcycles. We learned how to make shea butter, how to make "dolo" (millet beer, a local drink), soumbala (an ingredient for sauce).

Finally, with the corona virus pandemic, we continued our training, relaxing to clear our minds, while keeping our activities going: animating Mass, saying the rosary on the diocesan radio, an opportunity to have others pray and to share our faith.

We say a big thank you to the Holy Spirit for his presence at our side. Thank you to the Congregation, to the sisters of the Vice-Province of Burkina Faso and to all those who participated in our formation.

The postulants of the second and first year: Cynthia Alafuonye, Pascaline Somda, Mary Peter, Lydia Umagba, Martha Francis, Feranmi Aluko, Elizabeth Adeyemi, Elizabeth Adekunle, Lucie Aurelius, Eugénie FargaPublished on July 29, 2020

Sent by: Silvie ROAMBA Email popup

   

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Expérience exceptionnelle


Nous sommes arrivées au postulat -première étape de deux années de discernement vers la vie religieuse-, en deux groupes : le 19 septembre, les nigérianes de deuxième année et les burkinabés de première année venues de leur village, bagages attachés sur les vélos ; elles ont traversé le fleuve à l’aide d’une pirogue à cause des routes non praticables en saison pluvieuse, cependant heureuses dans cette aventure. Deux mois après, en novembre, le deuxième groupe de postulantes. Au total, nous étions dix, huit nigérianes et deux burkinabés.

Au début, la communication entre nous était pratiquement impossible, les nigérianes ne comprenant pas le français et les burkinabés ne parlant pas l’anglais ! Heureusement que notre responsable de formation traduisait tout dans les détails. Néanmoins, dans cette expérience, nous étions habitées par des questionnements, des peurs : comment former une communauté avec les barrières de langues, de culture, de provenance, d’éducation...

Petit à petit, nous avons appris à ouvrir nos cœurs pour accueillir et vivre chaque jour comme il se présente grâce à la formation très riche, profonde, aux sessions, cours, récollections, accompagnement personnel, prière communautaire et personnelle… Au fil du temps, le cours "Art de vivre ensemble" nous a fait comprendre que c’est la différence et la diversité qui font la beauté de la vie communautaire.

Cette formation nous a ouvert l’esprit à tous les aspects de la vie. Nous avons beaucoup ri entre nous : au début certaines avaient très peur des lapins, d’autres ont appris à s’occuper des poules, et d’autres encore à rouler à vélo et en moto. Nous avons appris à faire du beurre de karité, à préparer du « dolo » (bière de mil, boisson locale), du soumbala (ingrédient pour la sauce).

Enfin, avec la pandémie de corona virus, nous avons continué notre formation y ménageant des détentes pour aérer l’esprit, tout en gardant nos activités : animer la messe, dire le chapelet à la radio diocésaine, occasion de faire prier d’autres et de partager notre foi.

Nous disons un grand merci à l’Esprit-Saint pour sa présence à nos côtés. Merci à la Congrégation, aux sœurs de la Vice-Province du Burkina Faso et à tous ceux qui ont participé à notre formation.

Les postulantes de 2ème  et de 1ère  année : Cynthia Alafuonye, Pascaline Somda, Mary Peter, Lydia Umagba, Martha Francis, Feranmi Aluko, Elizabeth Adeyemi, Elizabeth Adekunle, Lucie Aurelius, Eugénie Farga. Publié le 29 juillet 2020

Envoyé par Silvie ROAMBA : courriel popup

   



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup