Homepage
Justice and Solidarity

Français | English | Español
Identification

Welcoming an Iraqi family in Poligny


For many months, a team in Poligny - a town in the Jura, a department in the east of France where a community of Daughters of the Holy Spirit is located - has been meticulously preparing for the arrival in France of a refugee family. This family of Iraqi Christians, refugees in Lebanon for more than 7 years, was expected under the umbrella of the Humanitarian Corridors. (The Humanitarian Corridors were born in Italy in 2015, in reaction to the increasing number of shipwrecks in the Mediterranean. In addition to Italy, France, Belgium and the Principality of Andorra have set up such operations. They are legal and safe migration channels using the existing law and allowing the most vulnerable to make use of them).

The family arrived at Roissy airport, France, on Saturday 17th October: Roni, the father, Hamsa, the mother and Elia their 10-year-old son were among the last families welcomed in France under the protocol signed in March 2017 between the French State and the Catholic and Protestant Churches. This arrival marked the end of this protocol which allowed 500 people to be welcomed in France and the beginning of a new one which will allow us to welcome 300 people.

The family was welcomed by a delegation from Jura of 4 people, including a translator.The morning and early afternoon of Sunday 18th October were devoted to visiting several symbolic places in Paris: the Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre with a mass celebrated for the 101st anniversary of the dedication of this basilica, the Trocadéro with the Human Rights forecourt, the Eiffel Tower, the Champs Elysées.

At the end of the day on Sunday, the family discovered Poligny's flat, which was now going to be theirs. This flat, made available by the city, was prepared with great care by a team. Due to the health measures linked to the Covid-19 pandemic, the family was confined there for a week. After this period, the various administrative procedures were started, as well as the first meetings with the members of the collective who had prepared their arrival. The setting up of the French language learning programme, of which I am a member, will thus be able to begin. These are key moments for the integration and autonomy of this family, which we hope to achieve within the next 18 months.

And because this welcome and accompaniment are only the simple implementation of the brother's service, one can only be touched by Roni's wish for the team of volunteers: "I only hope that we will live up to your expectations". Let him be certain of that! Their arrival is already for all a sign of a lived fraternity, the urgency of which Pope Francis has just reminded us in his last encyclical "Fratelli tutti" (All Brothers).

Michelle Guyon, DHS. Based on an article by Bertane Poitou, in charge of communication for the parish of Poligny. Published on 28 october 2020.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Justice et solidarité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Accueil d’une famille Irakienne à Poligny


Depuis de longs mois, une équipe de Poligny -ville du Jura, département de l'est de la France où se trouve une communauté de Filles du Saint-Esprit- a préparé minutieusement la venue en France d’une famille de réfugiés. Cette famille de chrétiens Irakiens, réfugiée au Liban depuis plus de 7 ans, était attendue dans le cadre des Couloirs Humanitaires. (Les Couloirs humanitaires -ou corridors- sont nés en Italie en 2015, en réaction à la multiplication des naufrages en Méditerranée. En plus de l’Italie, la France, la Belgique et la principauté d’Andorre ont mis en place de telles opérations. Ce sont des voies légales et sûres de migration utilisant le Droit existant et permettant aux plus vulnérables d'y avoir recours).

La famille est arrivée à l’aéroport de Roissy, France, samedi 17 octobre : Roni, le papa, Hamsa, la maman et Elia leur fils de 10 ans faisaient partie des dernières familles accueillies en France dans le cadre du protocole signé en mars 2017 entre l’Etat français et les Eglises catholique et protestantes. Cette arrivée marquait la fin de ce protocole qui a permis d’accueillir 500 personnes en France et le début d’un nouveau qui, lui, permettra d’en accueillir 300.

La famille a été accueillie par une délégation jurassienne de 4 personnes dont un traducteur. La matinée et le début de l’après-midi du dimanche 18 octobre ont été consacrés à la visite de plusieurs lieux emblématiques de Paris : le Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre avec la messe célébrée pour le 101ème anniversaire de la dédicace de cette basilique, le Trocadéro avec le Parvis des droits de l’Homme, la Tour Eiffel, les Champs Elysées…

La famille a découvert dimanche, en fin de journée, l’appartement de Poligny qui allait désormais être le sien. Cet appartement, mis à la disposition par la ville, a été préparé avec grand soin par une équipe. En raison des mesures sanitaires liées à la pandémie de Covid-19, la famille y est restée confinée pendant une semaine. Passé ce délai, ont commencé les différentes démarches administratives ainsi que les premières rencontres avec les membres du collectif ayant préparé sa venue. La mise en place du programme d’apprentissage du français, dont je fais partie, pourra ainsi débuter. Ce sont-là des moments clefs pour l’intégration et l’autonomie de cette famille espérées d’ici 18 mois.

Et parce que cet accueil et cet accompagnement ne sont que la simple mise en œuvre du service du frère, on ne peut qu’être touché par le souhait de Roni à l’égard de l’équipe de bénévoles : " J’espère seulement que l’on sera à la hauteur de vos attentes ". Qu’il en soit certain ! Leur arrivée est déjà pour tous un signe d’une fraternité vécue dont le pape François vient de nous rappeler l’urgence dans sa dernière encyclique " Fratelli tutti " (Tous frères).

Michelle Guyon, FSE. D’après un article de Bertane Poitou, chargée de la communication pour la paroisse de Poligny. Publié le 28 octobre 2020



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup