Homepage
IN THE INTERNATIONAL DHS FAMILY Family News

Français | English | Español
Identification

Poligny:
800 years of history
handed over to the Lord


Sunday 29th August is a very emotional day in Poligny -department of the Jura, France-. Indeed, it is today that the parishioners bid farewell to the Hospitaller Sisters of the Holy Spirit, during the Mass celebrated in the Collegiate Church by our new Bishop of this diocese, Mgr GARIN. Daughters of the Holy Spirit from Brittany were present, including Sister Ann Almodovar, our new Superior General, and Sister Anne-Marie Foucher, who recently handed over this service.

In her welcome address, Sister Françoise Ecuyer gave a brief history of the Congregation of the Hospitaller Sisters of the Holy Spirit, founded by Gui de Montpellier in 1178, to relieve physical, moral and spiritual misery, seeing in the poor living images of Christ. The Sisters quickly spread to various European countries and arrived in Poligny around 1230 where their Mother House was established.

In 2003, after the merger of the Hospitaller Sisters with the Daughters of the Holy Spirit of Saint-Brieuc, in Brittany, France, it was in 2016 that their House was handed over to the Diocese of Saint-Claude to become the Bishopric and Diocesan House of the Holy Spirit.

Today, the Sisters are leaving their Mother House for good: a trying passage, but one lived in faith, for "we truly believe that the Holy Spirit never leads us into a dead end. In trust, together let us give thanks: Hope does not disappoint", Françoise concluded with a tone of conviction...

In his homily, Father Garin evoked the mission of the Sisters in more than 50 parishes of the Diocese where they have evangelised thousands of people. He also recalled the two pillars of the Mission "Adore and serve" in the breath of the Spirit, in reference to our Rule of Life. As for Sister Ann, in her final words, she invites us "to listen more than ever to the Holy Spirit who urges us to hear the cry of the earth and the cry of the poor, one and the same cry to which we must respond...".

At the end of the celebration, four magnificent bouquets were given to Sisters Marie-Paule and Isabelle from theetirement Home in Lons-le-Saunier (Jura), as well as to Anne and Charlotte, in Poligny to this day. Then everyone was invited to go to the sunny park of the Maison Diocesain House for a drink in the company of friends (with Crémant du Jura of course!). Joy of reunion and exchanges in an atmosphere of gaiety... Afterwards, an excellent cold meal was served to the guests in the large hall. A friendly, fraternal and relaxed atmosphere!

The final point is in the chapel for the singing of Vespers. Father Garin then showed us a large beautiful cross of the Hospitaller Sisters which he gave to Sister Françoise; in turn, Sister Françoise gave it to Sister Ann Almodovar.

Thus end the pages of 800 years of history handed over to the Lord in trust and thanksgiving.

The Community of Saint-Claude. Published on 30 August 2021

 

 

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
EN FAMILLE INTERNATIONALE Filles du Saint Esprit Nouvelles de la Famille

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Poligny :
800 ans d'histoire
remis au Seigneur


Le dimanche 29 août est empreint de grande émotion à Poligny -département du Jura, France-. En effet, c'est ce jour que les paroissiens font leurs adieux aux Sœurs Hospitalières du Saint-Esprit, au cours de la Messe célébrée dans la Collégiale par notre nouvel Evêque de ce diocèse, Mgr GARIN. Des Filles du Saint-Esprit venues de Bretagne sont présentes, dont Sœur Ann Almodovar, notre nouvelle Supérieure Générale ainsi que Sœur Anne-Marie Foucher, qui, récemment, a remis ce service …

Dans le mot d'accueil, Sœur Françoise Ecuyer fait brièvement l'historique de la Congrégation des Sœurs Hospitalières du Saint-Esprit fondée par Gui de Montpellier en 1178, pour soulager les misères physiques, morales et spirituelles, voyant dans les pauvres de vivantes images du Christ. Très vite, les Sœurs essaiment dans divers pays d'Europe et ainsi arrivent à Poligny vers 1230 où s'établit leur Maison-Mère.

En 2003, après la fusion des Sœurs Hospitalières avec les Filles du Saint-Esprit de Saint-Brieuc, -en Bretagne, France-, c'est en 2016 que leur Maison est remise à ce Diocèse de Saint-Claude pour devenir Evêché et Maison Diocésaine du Saint-Esprit.
Ce jour, les Sœurs quittent donc définitivement leur Maison-Mère : passage éprouvant, mais vécu dans la foi, car " nous croyons vraiment que l'Esprit-Saint ne nous conduit jamais dans une impasse. Dans la confiance, ensemble rendons grâce : l'Espérance ne déçoit pas ", conclut Françoise d'un ton convaincu.

Dans son homélie, le Père Garin évoque la mission des Sœurs dans plus de 50 paroisses du Diocèse où elles ont évangélisé des milliers de personnes. Il rappelle aussi les deux piliers de la Mission " Adorer et servir " dans le souffle de l'Esprit, en référence à notre Règle de Vie. Quant à Sœur Ann, dans le mot final, elle nous invite " à rester plus que jamais à l'écoute de l'Esprit-Saint qui nous presse d'entendre le cri de la terre et le cri des pauvres, une seule et même clameur à laquelle nous devons répondre... "

A la fin de la célébration quatre magnifiques bouquets sont remis aux Sœurs Marie-Paule et Isabelle venues de l'EHPAD de Lons-le-Saunier (Jura), ainsi qu'à Anne et Charlotte, à Poligny jusqu’à ce jour. Puis tout le monde est invité à se rendre dans le parc ensoleillé de la Maison Diocésaine pour le verre de l'amitié (au Crémant du Jura bien sûr !). Joie des retrouvailles et des échanges dans une atmosphère de gaîté... Ensuite, c'est un excellent repas froid qui est servi aux invités dans la grande salle. Ambiance conviviale, fraternelle et détendue !

Le point final se passe dans la chapelle pour le chant des Vêpres. Le Père Garin nous montre alors une grande belle croix des Sœurs Hospitalières du Saint-Esprit qu'il remet à Sœur Françoise ; à son tour, Sœur Françoise la remet à Sœur Ann Almodovar.

Ainsi se terminent les pages de 800 ans d'histoire remis au Seigneur dans la confiance et l'Action de grâce.

La Communauté de Saint-Claude. Jura - Publié le 30 août 2021

 

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup