Homepage
Justice and Solidarity

Français | English | Español
Identification

"Dignity in the cemetery”


A few years ago, a friend on the street was shocked when he recognised B, a friend who had died on the street and whose body was lying in the city's burial chamber near the East Cemetery in Rennes. France. No mortuary dressing. He was left with his dirty clothes. He is alone, worn out from having walked the streets of Rennes, carrying misery, discretion, suffering, isolation.

This encounter with the dead, with death, provoked unrest, indignation and generated in 1998 a collective so that each dead person, without title, nor mark of affection, often without family link, finds or regains a dignity in the cemetery, hence the name "Dignity cemetery". With the help of the CLCV (Consumption, Housing and Living Environment), contacts were made with parishes, funeral directors and the city of Rennes to take street people into consideration. The first results were modest but encouraging.

Then a complementary survey was carried out with the shelters, the Social Security, the DDASS (Direction Départementales des Affaires Sanitaires et Sociales), etc…. In the responses of the street people, respect for the dead and the living, the dignity of every person, and the refusal to be identified with a number emerge above all: "I hate to see this little earthen grave collapsing with the rain," says J., "it's as if you had never existed". Agreements are signed for respect and dignity.

From now on, a slab is made, one grave per person with a wooden cross and flowers, that touch of courtesy if not elegance, a lively and unifying "goodbye", which will appease the spirit of the living. The wooden cross bears the first and last names, the dates of birth and death of the deceased. It is unifying, because the responsibility for the funeral lies with the communes that wish to do so; a territorial charter has been built and signed since 2018 by some thirty communes.

On the grave: a cup, an object that unites, a symbol of the link that relegates to oblivion the 'square' of the destitute, this 'space' reserved for those without a name, without a family, a cup that replaces the nothingness of the existence of these people who had nothing. Gone is the 'square' of the poor, so that their graves can stand alongside the graves of ordinary people, identified, rich with their families.

The Rennes collective has been working for almost a quarter of a century. It is made up of people who are homeless or formerly homeless but who are still in a very precarious situation. These people from the collective, called "6 rue de l'Hôtel-Dieu", are supported by a team comprising Jean-Claude and Pierre, who were working priests for a long time, Eliane, a Daughter of the Holy Spirit, and other volunteers who are affected by the situation of the deceased street people and who want to accompany and support the actions.

“6 rue de l'Hôtel-Dieu" is a space for meetings, exchanges and initiatives made available to the collective by the diocese. There, the collective, the team, the police, municipal and funeral authorities meet to begin the necessary steps to recognise the men and women who have fallen, fallen asleep for life: it can take a year to establish an identity, to find relatives who may or may not accept to honour their death....

Every week, flowers are placed in front of the tombs, flowers picked in one of the city's gardens maintained by this small world of "cemetery dignity". The symbol of all, Town hall square in Rennes: a composition of the flower of dignity, a flower made of natural ornaments (flower, leaf, chestnut). An ephemeral flower, like a mandala* for the spirit of the deceased, like a resonance that reminds us that every individual has the right to life but also to death with the greatest respect.

Thirty-two people, mainly men and women between the ages of 40 and 60, were buried in 2019 and 2020.

In the Departments of western France, in the Brittany region -Ille-et-Vilaine, Morbihan, Côtes-d'Armor and soon Finistère- some thirty charters have been signed with the municipalities to identify the dead in the street or in extreme poverty, with no ties or attachments other than their neighbourhood or fellow wanderers.

Just before the feast of All Saints, a tribute is paid to these people so that everyone can enrich this gesture of communion and human solidarity with their presence.

Eliane Nicol and the Rennes community - assisted in the writing by another volunteer!
Published on 12 November 2021

* Mandala: a circular drawing organised around a centre that opens onto the infinite, practised in all civilisations because, in the East as in the West, the circle is the symbol of life.



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Justice et solidarité

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

" Dignité cimetière "


Il y a quelques années,  un camarade de la rue était choqué en allant reconnaître B., un ami décédé à la rue, dont le corps repose à la chambre funéraire de la ville, près du cimetière de l’Est, à Rennes. France. Pas de toilette mortuaire. On l’a laissé avec ses vêtements sales. Il est seul, mort d’usure d’avoir jalonné les rues rennaises, portant misère, discrétion, souffrance, isolement.

Cette rencontre avec le mort, avec la mort a provoqué troubles, indignation et généré, en 1998, un collectif afin que chaque défunt, sans titre, ni marque d’affection, souvent sans lien familial, trouve ou retrouve une dignité au cimetière, d’où le nom de " Dignité cimetière ". Avec l’aide de la CLCV (Consommation, Logement et Cadre de Vie), des contacts sont engagés avec les paroisses, les pompes funèbres et la ville de Rennes pour la prise considération des gens de la rue. Les premiers résultats sont modestes mais encourageants.

Puis une enquête complémentaire est menée près des Centres d’Hébergements, de la Sécurité sociale, la DDASS (Direction Départementales des Affaires Sanitaires et Sociales) etc… Dans les réponses des gens de la rue, émergent surtout le respect des morts et des vivants, la dignité de toute personne, le refus d’être identifié à un numéro : " J’ai horreur, dit J., de voir cette petite tombe de terre qui s’affale avec la pluie ; c’est comme si tu n’avais jamais existé ". Des accords sont signés pour le respect et la dignité.

Désormais une dalle est réalisée, une tombe par personne avec une croix en bois et des fleurs, ce brin de courtoisie sinon d’élégance, un "au revoir" vivant et rassembleur, qui apaisera l’esprit des vivants. La croix en bois porte le prénom et le nom, les dates de naissance et de décès du disparu. Rassembleur, car la prise en charge des obsèques revient aux communes qui le souhaitent ; une charte territoriale est édifiée, signée depuis 2018, par une trentaine de communes.

Sur la sépulture, une coupelle, objet qui unit, symbole du lien reléguant aux oubliettes ‘le carré’ des indigents, cet ‘espace’ réservé à ceux qui sont sans nom, sans famille, coupelle remplaçant le rien de l’existence de ces gens qui n’avaient rien. Exit ‘le carré’ des pauvres pour que leurs tombes côtoient les tombes des gens ordinaires, identifiés, riches de leurs familles.

Le collectif rennais œuvre depuis bientôt un quart de siècle. Il est composé de personnes sans abri ou anciennement dans la rue mais toujours en grande précarité. Ces personnes du collectif, dénommé " 6 rue de l’Hôtel-Dieu " sont épaulées par une équipe comprenant, Jean-Claude et Pierre, longtemps prêtres-ouvriers, Eliane, Fille du St Esprit et d’autres bénévoles touchés par la situation des défunts de la rue et voulant accompagner et soutenir les actions.

Le " 6 rue de l’Hôtel-Dieu " est un espace de rencontre, d’échanges et d’initiatives mis à disposition du collectif par le diocèse. Là, collectif, équipe, autorités policières, municipales ou funéraires se réunissent pour entamer les démarches nécessaires à la reconnaissance des hommes et des femmes, tombés, assoupis pour la vie. Il faut parfois un an d’attente pour établir une identité, trouver des proches qui accepteront ou pas d’honorer leur mort….

Toutes les semaines des fleurs sont déposées devant les tombes, fleurs cueillies dans un des jardins de la ville entretenu par ce petit monde de la " dignité cimetière ". Symbole entre tous, Place de la mairie de Rennes : une composition de la fleur de la dignité, fleur faite d’ornements naturels (fleur, feuille, marron). Fleur éphémère, comme un mandala* pour l’esprit des défunts, comme une résonnance qui rappelle que tout individu a droit à la vie mais aussi à la mort dans le plus grand respect.

Trente-deux personnes, principalement hommes et femmes dont l’âge varie entre 40 et 60 ans, ont été inhumées en 2019 et 2020.

Dans les Départements de l’ouest de la France, région Bretagne, -Ille-et-Vilaine, Morbihan, Côtes-d’Armor et bientôt Finistère- une trentaine de chartes ont été signées avec les communes pour recenser les morts dans la rue ou dans la grande pauvreté, sans lien ou sans attache autres que leur quartier ou leurs camarades d’errance.

C’est juste avant la fête de la Toussaint qu’un hommage est rendu à ces personnes afin que tous puissent enrichir de leur présence ce geste de communion et de solidarité humaine.

Eliane Nicol et la communauté de Rennes - aidées pour la rédaction par un autre bénévole !
Publié le 12 novembre 2021

* Mandala : dessin circulaire organisé autour d’un centre qui s’ouvre sur l’infini, pratiqué dans toutes les civilisations car, à l’Est comme à l’Ouest, le cercle est symbole de la vie.

 



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup