Homepage
ABOUT US

Français | English | Español
Identification

Our history

1706. At the port of Le Légué, in the bay of Saint-Brieuc, in Brittany, France, on December 8th 1706, two women from modest families, Marie Balavenne and Renée Burel, commit themselves to live together to serve God by serving the poor, the sick and the children. They are encouraged and supported by M. Leuduger, a diocesan priest, Director of Missions in Haute Bretagne.

1733. The sisters ask and receive official approval from the diocesan church. They are known as "The Sisters of Charity of Plérin" or "The White Sisters" or "Daughters of the Holy Spirit." "The Houses of Charity" are established mainly in the countryside parishes.

1789. The French Revolution: religious congregations are suppressed. The 75 Daughters of the Holy Spirit are dispersed, but they keep the charism close to their heart faithfully: "To love and serve Jesus Christ in the person of the poor." As soon as the storm passes, most of the communities are reconstituted and others are founded throughout Brittany.

In the 19th century. In 19th century society, the Daughters of the Holy Spirit are at the service of the poor in every possible way, especially in times of epidemics: cholera, dysentery, typhus... They adapt to the needs of the times. They live simply among the people and participate in parish prayer.

1901-1905. In 1902 because of the laws of secularization, schools close one after another leading to the departure of sisters to other countries. The Congregation opens beyond Brittany: Belgium, Holland, England, the United States, Canada. This encounter with different cultures changes and enriches the manner in which this service to the poor is carried out by the sisters.

Still in response to the appeals of the Church, the Congregation sends sisters
- in 1936, to Manchuria. They are expelled from there in 1951 by the communist regime.
- in 1954, to North Cameroon.
- in 1962, to Chile.
- in 1964, to Nigeria1978.
- in 1974, to Chad
- in 1979, to Peru
- in 1994, to Burkina-Faso,
- in 2004, to Romania

1994. The Congregation of the sisters of Notre Dame de Briouze, in Normandy, merges with the Congregation of the DHS

1987. Commitment of the first Associates in the United States of America. 1996. Official recognition of the Associate Movement, men and women attracted by the spiritual tradition of the Congregation, wanting to deepen the grace of their baptism and to put themselves at the service of the Gospel.  

2003. The Congregation of sisters Hospitallers of the Holy Spirit of Poligny merges with the Congregation of the DHS

2003. Founding of the Secular branch of the DHS (consecrated seculars)



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Legal popup

Page d'accueil
Nous connaître

Français | English | Español
Identifiez-vous

Notre histoire

1706. Au port du Légué, dans la baie de Saint-Brieuc, en Bretagne, France, le 8 décembre 1706, deux femmes d'origine modeste, Marie Balavenne et Renée Burel, s'engagent à vivre ensemble pour servir Dieu en servant les pauvres, les malades et les enfants. Elles sont encouragées et soutenues par Jean Leuduger, prêtre diocésain, directeur des Missions en Haute Bretagne.

1733. Les sœurs demandent et reçoivent l'approbation officielle de l'Eglise diocésaine. Elles sont connues sous le nom de " Sœurs de la Charité de Plérin " ou " Sœurs blanches ", ou " Filles du Saint Esprit ". " Les maisons de charité " sont surtout établies dans les paroisses de campagne.

1789. Révolution française : suppression des congrégations religieuses.  Les 75 Filles du Saint-Esprit doivent se disperser, mais  elles gardent au cœur la fidélité au charisme : " Aimer et servir Jésus-Christ dans la personne des pauvres. " La Révolution passée, la plupart des communautés se reconstituent et d'autres sont fondées dans toute la Bretagne.

Au 19ème siècle. Dans la société du 19ème siècle, les Filles du Saint-Esprit se mettent au service des pauvres de toutes les manières possibles, notamment au moment des épidémies : choléra, dysenteries, typhus… Elles  cherchent à répondre  aux besoins du temps. Elles vivent simplement parmi le peuple et participent aux prières de la paroisse.

1901-1905.  En 1902, à cause des lois de laïcisation, les fermetures des écoles se succèdent et provoquent le départ des sœurs à l'étranger. La Congrégation s'ouvre alors vers l'extérieur : Belgique, Hollande, Grande Bretagne, Etats-Unis, Canada. Cette confrontation  à des cultures différentes  modifie et enrichit, pour les sœurs,  la manière de vivre le service de Dieu et des pauvres.
                                
Toujours en réponse aux appels de l'Eglise, la Congrégation envoie des sœurs
- en 1936, en Mandchourie, d'où elles seront expulsées en 1951, à l'avènement du régime communiste.
- en 1954, au Nord Cameroun
- en 1962, au Chili
- en 1964, au Nigéria
- en 1974, au Tchad
- en 1979, au Pérou
- en 1994, au Burkina Faso
- en 1994, en Roumanie.
 
1994. La Congrégation des sœurs de Notre Dame de Briouze, Normandie, fusionne avec la Congrégation des Filles du Saint Esprit.

1987. Engagement des premiers Associés aux Etats-Unis. 1996. Reconnaissance officielle des Associés, hommes et femmes attirés par la tradition spirituelle de la Congrégation pour le développement de leur vie baptismale et le service de l'Evangile. 

2003. La Congrégation des sœurs Hospitalières du Saint Esprit de Poligny, Jura, fusionne avec la Congrégation des Filles du Saint Esprit.

2003. Fondation de la Branche séculière Filles du Saint Esprit (laïques consacrées)



Filles du Saint-Esprit 15 bd. Sebastopol 35101 Rennes Cedex 2 France

Mentions legales popup